WWW Wednesdays – March 14, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

– What I’m currently reading
The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart
The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart, the sequel to The Mysterious Benedict Society, which I read several weeks ago. I’ve only read the first chapter so far but I’m already sucked in.

– What I recently finished reading
The Sorceress, the third in the series of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott. It keeps getting better and I can’t wait to read the next one.
The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living by The Dalai Lama. This is a good introduction to Buddhism and some of the Dalai Lama’s thoughts on living a peaceful life. I think stating the Dalai Lama as an author is misleading though, since the PhD co-author wrote most of the text, inserting his conversations with and some public talks from the Dalai Lama.
How to Practice : The Way to a Meaningful Life by The Dalai Lama. I wish this book was properly titled “Buddhism and Meditation 101.” In this book the Dalai Lama doesn’t share specific insights on how to live a meaningful life, but rather explains how meditation works and the various steps it follows. It’s still an interesting read but not at all what I was expecting.

– What I think I’ll read next
Probably The Awakening by Kate Chopin, for my book club meeting at the end of March.

My kids’ bookshelf

Toot & Puddle - wish you were here by Holly HobbieWhat they’re currently reading
Lots of Toot & Puddle books, which are really cute and funny. Holly Hobbie tells great stories and is a gifted illustrator.
Toot & Puddle : Wish You Were Here by Holly Hobbie. If you’ve ever wondered what a blue pig looks like, this book will show you. Toot travels to Wildest Borneo but when he returns with the Violet Virus, Opal and Puddle try to help him find a cure.
Toot & Puddle : A Present for Toot by Holly Hobbie. Puddle tries very hard to find the right birthday gift for Toot in a pet shop and that’s where he meets Tulip the parrot, which you encounter in other Toot & Puddle books.
Toot & Puddle : The New Friend by Holly Hobbie. Opal gets annoyed with her new friend Daphne who seems to be the best at everything she does, but Toot and Puddle help Opal see another side of her. A great lesson on accepting kids can’t be the best at everything and it’s OK.

What they recently finished reading
Benjamin Bear in Fuzzy thinking : a Toon Book by Philippe Coudray. This comic book with easy dialogue for young readers is full of humor. My kids really enjoyed it and I think I have to find more books in this style. I believe this is the only book from this author that’s been translated in English so far, so I may ask my mom to get us the others in French.
Gullible’s Troubles by Margaret Shannon. Poor Gullible Guineapig pays his aunt, uncle and cousin a visit and believes everything they tell him (and none of it is nice). However they’re quick to dismiss his warning about what’s about to come out of the basement. This book finishes with a funny twist of events.
Harry and the Terrible Whatzit by Dick Gackenbach. When his mother goes to the cellar and doesn’t come back, Harry goes search for her and meets the terrible two-headed Whatzit, who keeps getting bigger and bigger. Another great book for kids who need to confront their fear of monsters.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t have too many book requests in my queue at the library right now so I need to think about new books but I’m not sure what theme to pick. Any suggestions?

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

11 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – March 14, 2012

  1. I haven’t read Dean Koontz in a long time, but I grabbed his latest book, “77 Shadow Street”, off the library shelf the other day. Is good, but I’m already past 50 pages and still meeting all the characters–not much has happened yet. But I suspect it will, so I remain patient. :)

  2. I enjoyed The Art of Happiness ~ lots of great insights on how our thoughts get the best of us at times.

    I have A Dog’s Purpose on my queue at the library ~ several people ahead of me.

    Glad you’re findings such interesting books to read.

  3. Harry and the Terrible Whatzit is one of my favorite children’s picture books…if you are looking for some good suggestions for more picture books, why not head over to Perfect Picture Book Friday? Susanna Leonard Hill has a list of hundreds of books…each with a review and correlated activities. You can get there from my blog sidebar…I’ll be posting my Friday picture book review tonight.:)

    • Thanks for the reminder, I’ll have to go and check that list again. I just ordered a whole bunch of books at the library so hopefully we’ll get to read many of them soon. I still have plenty on our bookshelf we can read again and again while we’re waiting.

Leave a Reply

