WordPress weekly photo challenge: Distorted

It took me a little while to think of a good subject for this week’s WordPress weekly photo challenge. Of course, I could easily have twisted something and taken a quick picture of its distorted state but I was thinking I could try to get a more natural subject. And then, as I walked right by “it” one morning as I do several times a day during the school week, I knew it would be a great illustration for this week’s theme.

As I walk into my kids’ school parking lot every day, I spot a colorful fruit tree full of yellow and green accents. The first time I spotted this tree growing in a neighbor’s yard, I was shocked to see how much fruit was hanging on it untouched. The fruit is easily accessible from the school grounds without having to reach over the fence and into the private property.

As I walked closer to the tree my first reaction was, “ew, gross!” Here’s what I saw.

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: distorted lemons

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: distorted lemons

In case you haven’t recognized these shapes, I need to tell you they are lemons. And some pretty distorted ones I should say. Every single lemon on the tree displays that disorted shape.

As much as I was tempted to pick a bunch of lemons when I saw them from afar, I instantly dropped that thought after my close-up experience. These may be the juiciest, most fragrant lemons I’ll ever see but I can’t make myself pick even a few to try out. They just look like something really bad happened to them. This has to be the result of an experimental radioactive mutation gone bad and ingesting any lemon juice seems to me like a terrible idea.

Alright, so I may be paranoid but I don’t feel I’m alone. Take a look at the whole tree and guess how many people are eager to pick these free ripe lemons. My guess is, none. Would you take the chance?

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: distorted lemon tree

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: distorted lemon tree

20 responses to “WordPress weekly photo challenge: Distorted

  1. I don’t know if I would or not, but it would be pretty cool to have a fruit tree near me. Don’t get much of that in Ohio. :)

    • I think all you could grow would be pears or apples, but still that’d be pretty nice. I don’t really have room in my small yard for fruit trees but I have raspberries and a number of vegetables. I’m very lucky though, since my neighbors have a lemon tree and an orange tree that grow over our fence so we can pick fresh organic fruit several times a year. They actually don’t pick the fruit on their side (go figure) so I sometimes grab it too (to help the tree not deplete its energy for nothing…).

  2. Wow! That’s a lot of lumpy lemons! I might try one…just for kicks.

  3. I dare you to try one!

  4. wow, that doesn’t look natural. great pic!

  5. I expect that it’s better/safer/tastier than the genetically altered “food” sold in supermarkets. Just saying . . .

  6. I would try one. I think they look great… But I’m a little odd…

  7. They look fine to me. A shape distortion is not infectious to HUMANS!!!

    More likely to be due to irregular watering or some such
    Citrus fruit distortions:

    Puff and crease
    Identification tip: An uneven appearance develops on the outer surface of rinds when the outer rind has separated from inner fruit. The apparent cause is different growth rates between the inner fruit (endocarp) and the white layer (albedo) under the peel.

  8. Alternatively they are not a true lemon, but are a hybrid… pick one and eat it? Go on go on go on :)

  9. Lemons? Nope! Not the common ones, anyway. Looks like Citrus medica.

  10. Sheila Jacketti

    I believe that this distortion as well as the curled, ugly leaves is caused by a bacteria or virus that is transmitted by the whitefly or aphids. Not sure though. I have looked on some of the agriculatural sites to see if I can find a photo because my lemon trees have this…they are eureka lemons – the same kind your local supermarket sells – they just have the ugly, thick distorted flesh and they aren’t as juicy as the ones in the store. They have the same taste but you have to squeeze three times the lemons to get the same amount of juice. I have not been able to find the answer to what causes it and what to use to prevent it. If anyone knows the answer can you please post it?

    • Someone in the comments mentioned it’s Citrus Medica and the lemons are supposed to be like that. They’re mostly for cooking, not using raw.

      • My tree is not a Citrus medica – what you are seeing is probably not either as they are not normally sold at the local nursery (at least in southern california). My tree is a ‘Eureka” lemon and although they are not “supposed” to look like that, and wouldn’t with proper care, it obviously has some kind of problem – I’m guessing it’s an insect born issue. I started getting more concerned about the damage when I heard that the asian citrus psyllid is a potential problem in my area – Ventura County, CA where there is a huge citrus industry (lemons in particular). The photos I have seen of the damage caused by the psyllid don’t indicate this issue with the fruit. I should truck a few over to my local agricultural extension office for a definitive answer….

Leave a Reply

