WWW Wednesdays – March 7, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

The Sorceress by Michael Scott

The Sorceress by Michael Scott

– What I’m currently reading
The Sorceress, the third in the series of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott. Fortunately this book features a much faster pace than Seven years in Tibet so I’m enjoying the read. I like how this series is developing and even though I’m only half-way through the book, I’m looking forward to reading the next in the series.

– What I recently finished reading
Seven years in Tibet by Heinrich Harrer. For me, the hardest part about reading this book was the lack of passion in the storytelling. Every event was so factual when it could have been a little more exciting and interesting. During the last 50 pages, Harrer FINALLY talks about meeting face-to-face with the Dalai Lama and becoming his tutor, following by China’s invasion of Tibet and The Dalai Lama’s exile to India. I think Harrer would have grabbed my attention a lot better if he had spent 50 pages on his trek and the other 270 pages on his close-up experience with the Dalai Lama.

– What I think I’ll read next
 I have several interesting books waiting for me on my bookshelf. I think I’ll make a decision by figuring out which one needs to go back to the library first.

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading

I need my monster by Amanda Knoll

I need my monster by Amanda Knoll

I Need My Monster by Amanda Knoll. When Ethan finds a note saying the monster under his bed has gone fishing for a week, he requests a substitute monster to stop him from getting out of bed, but he can’t find a good match, even after five tries.
My Mama Says There Aren’t Any Zombies, Ghosts, Vampires, Creatures, Demons, Monsters, Fiends, Goblins, or Things by Judith Viorst. I love this book! Nick starts doubting he can trust his mom’s word there are no monsters and such lurking around when he catches her making mistakes on a regular basis.
Fuddles by Frans Vischer. Fuddles the chubby indoor cat is pampered every hour of the day. This easy life isn’t enough for him so he decides to escape from his house and explore the great outdoors. He soon realizes the outside world is a little more than what he expected it to be…

What they recently finished reading
Raccoon Tune by Nancy Shaw. I love Shaw’s sheep books but this one is just as great. A family of raccoons prowls around at night until they find supper, all in rhyme.
Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett. Annabelle finds a box with a neverending supply of yarn and knits for everyone and everything in town until an evil archduke asks her to sell him the yarn. When she refuses, he steals the box only to find out it’s empty. My kids loved this story from beginning to end.
Chicken Big by Keith Graves. This story is based on Chicken Little but with a much funnier spin and hilarious illustrations. A giant chicken hatches from an enormous egg but the other chickens can’t accept he’s one of them. Instead they imagine he’s all sorts of animals (squirrel, hippopotamus, cow…)

– What I think they’ll read next
We have a whole bunch of monster books to read so I’ll highlight more of the best ones in next week’s update.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

8 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – March 7, 2012

  1. I’m reading “Dance of Souls” by Audrey Kalman, a writer whose blog I follow. For me, that’s one of the fun things about blogging and Twitter–getting to know the authors whose books I’m reading. Pretty cool. :)

  2. Glad that The Sorceress has a better pace than 7 Years in Tibet. I don’t like books that D~R~A~G readers along over unsuitable terrain. :D

    • Same for me. Even books that don’t have a past-paced story can be written in an interesting way. I think if a publisher had picked up the book more recently, they would have paired the adventurer with a good writer to tell the story better.

  3. Catherine Johnson

    I love that last list, they sound hilarious!

  4. What a great list…for you and for the kids. :)
    You really are an inspiration…always finding time to read to them. :) There have been quite a lot of funny monster books published lately…I think they really help kids get over their fear of “monsters under the bed”.

    • My kids don’t believe in monsters anymore (Mama, there’s no such things as monsters!) but they still enjoy the stories a lot. Kids like to be scared a bit as long as there’s a happy ending, just like in fairy tales (as least with the more modern, kind endings).

      We read every night before going to bed, usually between 30 and 45 minutes. They know the more they screw around to get ready for story time, the less time they’ll have to read, and it’s usually a good enough motivator. ;-)

Leave a Reply

