WWW Wednesdays – February 22, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Seven years in Tibet by Heinrich Harrer– What I’m currently reading
Seven years in Tibet by Heinrich Harrer. I just started this book and it’s taking me a little time to get used to the writing style. Harrer apologizes for not being a professional writer and it shows as his prose is very factual and not too lively. I’m looking forward to his encounter with the Dalai Lama and his extended stay in Tibet though. 

– What I recently finished reading
Harlan Coben’s Tell No One. Wow, what a page turner. What a story, maybe too intricate for some, but I really think Coben pulls it off nicely, up to the very last page. A thriller with murders and mysteries full of human insight, it kept me on the edge until I was done. If you like this type of books, I highly recommend it.
The Magician (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel) by Michael Scott. I reviewed it as I was about done last week and I liked the book so much I can’t wait to read the next one in the series.

– What I think I’ll read next
The Sorceress, the third in the series of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott. It’s actually waiting for me at the library and I can’t wait to find out what happens to Nicholas, Perenelle, Scatty, Sophie and Josh. There are actually six books in this series and the last one is coming out this May so I’ll get to read the whole series in less than a year.

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading
The artist who painted a blue horse by Eric CarleThe Artist Who Painted a Blue Horse by Eric Carle. You can never go wrong with Eric Carle’s books and this one is no exception. It really shows kids how to think outside of the box for artistic purposes.
The Perfect Pumpkin Pie by Denys Cazet (the author of the Minnie & Moo books). The hilarious tale of Mr. Wilkerson, lover of pumpkin pie, who returns as a ghost on Halloween night to demand some good pie from Jack and his grandmother, the new owners of Wilkerson’s house. I was concerned about the haunting ghost freaking out my kids, but the nonchalant grandmother’s attitude towards him helps make Wilkerson’s character laughable rather than scary.
The Fox and the Hen by Eric Battut (a French author). Henrietta the hen makes the mistake to trade her first egg with the fox and the other farm animals help her get it back. This is quite a trying experience as the fox is very determined to eat this egg for breakfast and his cunning mind is hard to beat.

What they recently finished reading
When I Was King by Linda Ashman. A cute story about a young boy who loses his “king of the house” status where his baby brother arrives. This is a great book for the little ones  (and their parents) who are anxious about the arrival of a sibling.
Little Toot by Hardie Gramatky (thank you Vivian at Positive Parental Participation for recommending this book). A nice way to address the subject of refusing to take on responsibilities and developing some problem-solving skills.

– What I think they’ll read next
More books!  ;-)

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

12 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – February 22, 2012

  1. Excellent list. I loved the story behind Seven Years in Tibet, but never read the book. Tell No One sounds intriguing.

    • Seven Years is intereting but it’s not the most passionate writing out there so it makes the reading lengthy. And although I admire the struggle to escape the prisoner camps, I don’t feel I need to read every single detail involved. But I’m sure I’ll get to the good parts soon.
      If you like mysteries and thrillers, you should definitely read Tell No One. My jaw dropped at the very end of the book. Some reviews I read afterwards said the story seemed improbable. What nonsense! First, nothing is impossible. Second, it’s a fictional book, so anything is possible. It’s a fast read, you should try it and tell me what you think.

  2. Thank you so much, Milka, for the mention. :)
    I LOVE your reading enthusiasm…you are an amazing mom!!!! I’ll have to check out some of the picture books you’ve read…they sound great! Glad Little Toot was a hit!

  3. Catherine Johnson

    Gosh, what a great list. I’m putting Tell No One and the pumpkin pie one on my TBR pile right away. I’m tempted with the ten years in Tibet too, but if it isn’t a page turner I might have to skim it. I’m a fussy bean these days :)
    So glad I popped by!

    • Skip 7 years if you don’t like slow-paced books. I’m finally a third into it but that’s thanks to scheming. I can’t say the same for Tell No One as I couldn’t put it down, even to go to sleep! And it’s not a good book to read before bedtime, a little too freaky.

  4. I just finished “Caught” by Harlan Coben. Really good. I am now reading “Entrapped” by Barbara Kyle, which I’ll be reviewing on my site soon (she’s going to give away two free signed books!). It is fantastic so far. She sets a good example of what writers should strive for.

    My son is currently reading “Heist Society” by Ally Carter for his class’s book club, which means I’ll be reading it next :). Have your kids read that?

    • I’m going to put your book recommendations on my list. If you liked Coben’s book, then you should really read Tell No One. What a jaw dropper. As for Heist Society, my kids are 5 and almost 4 so they’ll have to wait a little but I started Harry Potter with my oldest and he likes it.

      • There is a French movie called “Tell No One”. Do you know if it’s the same story? Or do they just share the title?

      • It’s the French adaptation of the novel. I actually watched the movie yesterday. I’m sure for those who didn’t read the novel, the movie is good. I personally was disappointing with it after reading the book (as always). The first half was a little slow to my taste and MANY things were changed about the plot, including the very end, which I found incomprehensible. I’d suggest you read the book first if you want to watch the movie, not the other way around. Books are ALWAYS better than the movie adaptations.

      • Unfortunately, I already saw the movie. It was good, but then I didn’t realize there was a book behind it. Maybe I’ll still check it out. My mind doesn’t retain movies very long :)

      • Oh my gosh, read the book! SO much better than the movie, especially the plot and the jaw-droppers.

Leave a Reply

