WWW Wednesdays – February 8, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

I’m still having a hard time to find enough time to myself to read as much as I’d like to, but with my husband finally starting all-day rehab this week, we’re settling down in a new routine and the boys have been reading a lot of books every day so I can’t complain.

My bookshelf

The innocent by Harlan Coben– What I’m currently reading
I’m about to finish The Innocent by Harlan Coben, a murder mystery I have to read for my February book club meeting. I’d never read anything by Coben until now but I understand he’s quite famous and prolific in this genre. Although I’m not done with the book yet, I really like it so far. I was concerned about the many characters and how they would all come together since they seemed so disconnected, but Coben is tying things up nicely and I like how he takes time to develop each character. And of course there is a lot of suspense, murders and twists. I definitely want to read more of him and I think I’ll start with Tell No One, which was made into a French movie a couple of years ago.

– What I recently finished reading
Nothing new since I’m finishing up The Innocent this week. 

– What I think I’ll read next
The Magician (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel) by Michael Scott, the sequel to The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, which I enjoyed reading a few months ago.

My kids’ bookshelfWhat do people do all day by Richard Scarry

What they’re currently reading
My two kids start school 30 minutes apart every day, so after I drop off my five-year old, I go back to the car and read books with my three-year old, enjoying some nice, quiet reading time together. His favorite book to read in the car this past week has been Richard Scarry’s What Do People Do All Day.
We’re also enjoying the Cornelius P.Mud series, which we originally read probably two or three years ago:
Cornelius P. Mud, Are You Ready for Bed?
Cornelius P. Mud, Are You Ready for School?
Cornelius P. Mud, Are You Ready for Baby?

What they recently finished reading
We’ve enjoyed reading a couple of books by Doreen Cronin:
Diary of a Spider
Diary of a Worm
They’re not as funny as her Click, Clack, Moo book series where farm animals blackmail the farmer to get what they want, but we still like them.

– What I think they’ll read next
I’ve ordered some new books from the library but they’re a little slow to come in. Fortunately we still have plenty of unread books to keep us entertained until then.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

14 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – February 8, 2012

  1. Love the reading ideas

  2. I’m currently reading “Caught” by Harlan Coben–just started it, actually. I’ll have to try out “The Innocent” when I’m done. I saw from your post last week you read “The Mysterious Benedict Society”. I had to read that with my son for his class’s book club. Not bad. I’m always a little worried with some of the selections those kids pick! There’s usually a superhero of some kind!

    Great blog. Can’t wait to read more!

    • Thanks for stopping by! You’ll have to tell me what you think about Caught. I can’t wait to read Tell No One because of all the great reviews. I love mysteries and I can’t believe I never heard of Coben before now. As for “The Mysterious Benedict Society”, besides the wacky memory sucking concept, I liked it, especially the interaction between the kids. I’m not sure how old your son is, but has he read “Holes” by Louis Sachar? I finally read it last year and it was one of my favorite reads of 2011. No superheroes per se there, but lots of brave kids.

  3. I do hope your husband’s progress is good

  4. Staged, graduated return may be better?

  5. It has to be his decision though….(in my humble opinion) as a wife telling him what to do and not what to do could easily build up resentments. I have to bite my tongue about the cycling this end….

Leave a Reply

