WWW Wednesdays – February 1, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

I skipped last week’s WWW Wednesdays update because the boys and I haven’t had a lot of time to read, with our many trips to hospitals and my many hours on the phone after my husband’s accident. Things are settling down a little bit fortunately and we’ll start a new routine next week when my husband starts the all-day rehab program. Here are some of the books we’ve been reading in the past couple of weeks.

My bookshelf

The mysterious Benedict society– What I’m currently reading
I’m just finishing The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart, a young adult novel. This is a very entertaining and adventurous read. It was hard to put down and although I found some of the storyline a little far stretched, I really enjoyed reading it. This book has a sequel I’d like to read but this story wraps up on its own, without a cliffhanger to force you into the sequel.

– What I recently finished reading
Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. I just couldn’t make myself like this book and I flipped the pages to finish it. I just feel Anne is an obnoxious, self-centered girl and I didn’t care for her. The book was way too full of overstretched rosy descriptions, which made my reading experience boring.

– What I think I’ll read next
My February book club choice is The Innocent by Harlan Coben, a murder / thriller story.

My kids’ bookshelfAll about Sam

What they’re currently reading
All About Sam by Lois Lowry. We’re all enjoying reading this book, as Lois Lowry is a real genius at putting herself in a child’s shoes. She really knows how they think and act. My kids relate to Sam and what happens to him throughout the book so I know she’s spot on. I’d never would have known about this chapter book if my son’s teacher didn’t read it to him in class. If you have kids 4 and over, this is a great read for them.
Lon Po Po : a Red-Riding Hood story from China by Ed Young. Three sisters at home alone invite a wolf disguised as their grandmother inside. Fortunately the eldest finds a way to outsmart the hungry guest.

What they recently finished reading
The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein.  This is the true story of Philippe Petit, a French street performer who stretched a cable between the two Twin Towers in New York City as they were almost completed and walked in between them for almost an hour. The book was written in 2003 and it discreetly mentions the towers being gone but still there in memory, with Petit walking among the clouds.
Dogzilla and Kat Kong by Dav Pikley. These are very funny spoofs of the original stories, featuring hilarious pictures (and dialogs) of real cats, mice, dogs and hamsters.

– What I think they’ll read next
We have so many books from the library, it’s going to take us some time to read them all. We’re expecting fun reading times ahead of us and I’ll highlight our favorite books over the next few weeks.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

8 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – February 1, 2012

  1. Don’t worry Anne; I love you.

  2. I’m sure I read another negative review on exactly the same book recently, so you’re not alone.

    I’ve just ordered All about Sam after reading your review. Isn’t Amazon wonderful? I love that ‘look inside’ feature!!

    • Haha, you make me feel better about A of GG. It was just atrocious, I’m sorry.
      As for All About Sam, I think your daughter is going to love it. It’s absolutely hilarious. There’s a chapter when Sam goes to preschool for the first time (he says he’s not going to do ANYTHING there) and he meets a boy named Adam (like my youngest) who loves to bomb and shoot everything in the play area. The teacher’s favorite phrase for him is, Time out, Adam. We did get a real kick out of that. Unfortunately we have to return the book at the library and we’re not done but I’ll request it again. My son finished it at school and is now reading the next one, Atta Boy, which is apparently just as funny.

  3. I know you are so busy with your family and visiting your husband in the hospital…and dealing with EVERYTHING.
    When you get a chance, email me at vivian@positiveparentalparticipation.com with your address and I will send you the picture book you won. :)

  4. The book arrived and Akasha loves it. Our favourite chapter so far is the ‘flushing’ one.

    Unfortunately, I lost my voice a couple of days ago, and Kashi is beside herself waiting for the rest of the story.
    We’re on the ‘moving’ chapter so still to come to Adam’s part. I’m really looking forward to continuing.

    Did I say, that the older kids love it too? Yep, even the 16yo. Actually, she’s the one laughing the loudest!!

    Great recommendation – thanks!

    • Oh, I’m so glad you like it. And I see why the older kids would like it too. They know what it’s like to live with a little one and can probably relate to Anastasia, the big sister. You probably should read Atta Boy next. My son told me about some parts that sound very funny (he’s reading it at school). It reminds me, I have to get the book back from the library since we had to return it before we were done with it.

Leave a Reply

