WWW Wednesdays – January 18, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

– What I’m currently reading
Anne of Green Gables by L.M. MontgomeryAnne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. If you’re a fan of this book and the others that follow I apologize in advance if my comments shock you. I’m about a third into it and I’m finding this book a real drag. Sooooo slow, with such long, overdone descriptions of everything and barely a plot to grab my interest. And the writing style is extremely outdated. I doubt this book would get picked up by any publisher today without some serious editing. And on top of it all, Anne can’t shut up, as she rambles on and on for half of every chapter, following or preceding a temper tantrum. Gosh I hope it gets better…

– What I recently finished reading
Deck the Halls by Mary Higgins Clark and Carol Higgins Clark. Fun and entertaining. As usual the good guys catch the bad guys and there’s plenty of suspense in between.

Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut. A mix of drama, sci-fi, autobiography and humor, all wrapped up in an absurd tale. This is not specifically my type of novels, but I enjoyed the writing style. So it goes.

– What I think I’ll read next
I’ve got a few books waiting on my bookshelf so I’ll have to check which one needs to go back to the library first before I make my pick.

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading
Mr Putter and Tabby ring the bell by Cynthia RylantMr Putter & Tabby Ring the Bell by Cynthia Rylant. I’m so glad there’s finally a new Mr Putter & Tabby because we’ve read all the other ones. This new adventure is as hilarious and sweet as the rest.
All about Sam by Lois Lowry. My five year old read this book with his kindergarten teacher and he asked that we read it at home too. This is the story of Sam, his parents, and his sister Anastasia, from the first day he was born into his toddler years. Right now, we’re in the middle of the Terrible Twos…
My friend Rabbit by Eric Rohmann. Rabbit’s got a lot of ideas and things tend to go wrong every time, but Mouse still lets him play with his airplane because they are friends. A great lesson about friendship and forgiveness.

What they recently finished reading
One by Kathryn Otoshi. Probably one of the BEST books on bullying, showing how it just takes one to make everyone count. It’s also a fun book on colors and shapes. I really like this book a lot, and my kids do too. I highly recommend it for kids from age 2 to 6.
Cloudette by Tom Lichtenheld. Cloudette, the littlest cloud of them all, finds a way to do something big and important like the other clouds. A great message for little kids to find a purpose and make a difference, no matter their size.

– What I think they’ll read next
I picked up a very large bag of books at the library this afternoon. I had requested some of them ahead of time. As for the rest, my three year old and I picked them right off the shelves, so I hope we have some good ones in the pile.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

16 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – January 18, 2012

  1. Just finished Never Have I Ever, wow, what an ending!

  2. I don’t think I’ve read Anne of Green Gables. If I have, it didn’t have staying power. I don’t enjoy books with excess descriptions or too much purple prose.

  3. You are so funny about Ann of GG! I hope it gets better too – I loved it as a child!

    • Ah, now I’ve got to ask you this: have you read Anne of Green Gables as an adult (and a writer) too? If not, I suggest you read it and tell me what you think. I think it’s just over the top, in many ways.

      • Anne of GG is the kind of book that I skip-read without realizing it. I can’t stand long flowery details in life or in a book. Get to the point! Also could not finish Pride and Prejudice for the same reason.

      • Finally, another woman who didn’t like this book! I felt like watching a soap opera, where nothing happens for the whole hour. I flipped through the rest last night to get it off my night stand. The story is OK but nothing out of the ordinary. I can’t believe this is such a highly rated book.

  4. I read Anne of GG at the age of 11 and loved it, but can’t really remember a word!

  5. I might take the dare, P. M. I think it’s in the basement with all the classics my parents left me. They ordered a whole collection like they were encyclopedia’s. Remember when the encyclopedia sales men came? or am I showing my age?
    Anyway as a writer and adult I may try a little of A of GG just so I can see what you ‘re talking about. I missed it growing up.
    Two other books I’d like to read are “Cloudette” and “One”. Perhaps I’ll put them on hold at the library tomorrow.

    • I really recommend Cloudette and One, they are two great books. As for A of GG, read it if you dare and tell me what you think. The only reason why grown women like this book in my opinion is that they liked it as a child and they have impaired judgement.

  6. Love the choices you are reading with your kids. :)
    Regarding AofGG…it’s funny…lots of stuff that was written years ago may seem wordy and “boring”…just like watching old TV shows (I Love Lucy is ALWAYS hilarious) and old classic movies. Maybe it’s that we are living in a world that goes at such a fast pace now…I’m not sure.

    • Did you read that book recently? If not, you should and tell me if I’m dreaming the bad writing. I’ve read plenty of classics, most of which I’ve really enjoyed. I’ve read all the Little House on the Prairie, where things actually happened. Nothing happens in A of GG, she’s an obnoxious, vain, self-centered kid. She’s really not a likeable person and honestly not a great example for girls. Seriously, it is like watching an episode of a soap opera where nothing happens, everyone is very melodramatic and you don’t really care what happens to them.

      Here’s the beginning of the first chapter (without Anne there yet). You tell me what you think of the style and if any publisher would pick up the book by just reading this.
      http://www.yabookscentral.net/cfusion/index.cfm?fuseAction=books.excerpt&excerpt_id=17&book_id=333

Leave a Reply

