WWW Wednesdays – January 4, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

Happy new year, everyone! I wish you and your close ones plenty of good things for 2012.

My bookshelf

– What I’m currently reading
The 19th wife by David EbershoffThe 19th Wife by David Ebershoff, chosen by my book club for January and a previous New York Times Bestseller. I’ve been reading it for almost two weeks and finally getting close to the end. This book is very long because it’s actually two stories in one. The first one is of Ann Eliza Young, the 19th “official” wife of Brigham Young. She eventually divorced him and campaigned to make polygamy illegal in the U.S., as well as wrote a book about her experience called… Wife No. 19. The second story is that of Jordan Scott, a reject from a Mormon like cult in Arizona, whose mom is accused of killing her husband.

– What I recently finished reading
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. You can read my review here.

– What I think I’ll read next
I’m hoping to be able to read The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything by Ken Robinson before I have to return it at the library. That’s why I need to finish The 19th Wife before this book is due (I’m really trying).

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading
Bunnicula the vampire bunnySeveral books in the Bunnicula & Friends series by James Howe, describing the adventures of Harold the dog, Chester the cat and Bunnicula, a potential vampire bunny who sleeps during the day and makes vegetables turn white by sucking out their juices at night. So far we have read these books and we’re looking forward to reading more if they are available at our library:
Bunnicula & Friends – the Vampire Bunny
Bunnicula & Friends – Rabbit-cadabra!
Bunnicula & Friends – The Fright Before Christmas
Bunnicula & Friends –  Creepy Crawly Birthday

What they recently finished reading
The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales by Jon Scieszka. Hilarious versions of common fairy tales, including the Gingerbread Man who happens to be a Stinky Cheese Man that nobody wants to chase and eat…
Sylvester and the Magic Pebble by William Steig. Sylvester the donkey who finds a magic pebble that can make any wish come true. Unfortunately, in a moment of fright, Sylvester requests to be turned into a rock but then can’t hold the pebble to wish himself back to normal again. A great ending happens to this tender story.

– What I think they’ll read next
I just ordered some Richard Scarry books so I hope we get to read a few of them soon.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

2 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – January 4, 2012

  1. Glad to see you guys are still reading up a storm! :D

Leave a comment