WWW Wednesdays – December 21, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

Did you notice I revamped my blog yesterday? What do you think of the new look?

I was going to work on my “101 in 1001” update late last week when, one by one, each member of our family got attacked by the nastiest stomach bug. It looked like we had an exorcist visiting our home and working its anti-demon moves on all of us for several days. As a parent, there’s nothing worse than being sick as a dog when you have to take care of your kids (whether they’re sick or not themselves). We’re now recovering and finding the energy to get out of the house for fresh air. My advice to you: use hand sanitizer everywhere you go! That bug is NASTY.

My bookshelf

Between shades of gray by Ruta Sepetys– What I’m currently reading
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. A fascinating novel written by the descendant of Lithuanian refugees. In 1941, 15-year old Lina and her family are deported to a forced-labor camp in Siberia. I’m a third into the book and even though it’s definitely not a book to put me in the Christmas spirit (interesting to note it arrived at the library right after I finished Man’s Search for Meaning), I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen next to Lina and her family.

– What I recently finished reading
Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl. A fascinating memoir of Frankl’s years spent in various concentration camps during World War II and his analysis of what makes man want to survive such atrocities rather than give up on life. As you read this book, or any book on similar inhumane situations (e.g. genocides, ethnic cleansing, slavery), it’s so hard to believe these still happen in so many places around the world, every day.

– What I think I’ll read next
Deck the Halls by Mary Higgins Clark and Carol Higgins Clark. It’s the prequel to The Christmas Thief, which I just read a few weeks ago. Since it’s set around Christmastime I thought it would be a good change from the horrors of the concentration camps at this time of year.

My kids’ bookshelfThe Berenstain Bears save Christmas

What they’re currently reading
Lots of books with a Christmas theme!
The Berenstain Bears Save Christmas by Stan & Jan Berenstain and Michael Berenstain. A great story to remind our little ones what the true spirit of Christmas really. The Berenstain Bears help Santa Bear find it amongst the Christmas gone-crazy lights, shopping and overall holiday extravagance.
Mr. Willowby’s Christmas tree by Robert Barry. My kids LOVE reading this story. They’re amazed to see how one Christmas treetop that gets chopped because Mr Willowby’s tree is too tall can keep on giving a Christmas tree to so many families. A lovely Christmas story to read all together.
Mooseltoe by Margie Palatini. Papa Moose is taking care of all the Christmas decorations and preparations on his “check” list but his family makes him realize he forgot one crucial item: the Christmas tree. But Papa Moose is here to save Christmas!

What they recently finished reading
How The Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr Seuss. I’m not a big Dr Seuss fan (his over-the-top play of words using made-up words usually drive me nuts) but I’ll admit I really like this story, especially around Christmastime. We also watched the original How The Grinch Stole Christmas DVD based on this book and the kids liked it a lot (it’s about 25 minutes, just right for little ones).
A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Philip C. Stead. A very sweet story about an older gentleman, Amos McGee, who spends time every day with his animal friends at the zoo. When Amos finds himself too sick to go to the zoo, his friends decide to return the favor. 
Look! A book! by Bob Staake. By the author of  The Red Lemon (another great picture book), this is a great seek-and-find adventure picture book with rhyming text and lots of die cuts on every page to find hidden objects and characters. My kids liked reading this book with me and on their own.  
 
– What I think they’ll read next
There are a few books already waiting for us at the library so I’ll have to pick them up by the end of this week and see what great stories are waiting for us.
 
What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

6 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – December 21, 2011

  1. I love the Grinch ~ both book and movie! Glad you got rid of that Grinchy sounding bug.

  2. I like the new look, especially the Toy Story themed art in the header! :)

    I’m currently reading Abide with Me by Elizabeth Strout. It’s the story of a widowed minister in 1950s New Hampshire and his relationship with his troubled young daughter. It’s a slow, atmospheric story and I’m enjoying it so far.

    Hope you are all on the mend in time to enjoy Christmas!

    • Thanks for your comment on the new look. My five year old decided to draw all the Toy Story characters out of memory one day and I really was impressed at the result so I thought I’d put it on display with the rest of our art.

      We’re on a slow recovery slope from that nasty stomach bug. It’s everywhere right now and extremely contagious so keep your family covered with sanitizer everywhere you go!

  3. I like the new look, a little more personal feel. You got me reading The Lying Game, and just went on waiting list for Never Have I ever. I would have never picked it up on my own, but once I did, I just couldn’t put it down. My son just read Yertle the turtle the first time and we’ve been having fun pretending to be stacks of turtles. As for whole family tummy bugs, oh man, been there.

    • Isn’t it a great book? And I’d never picked it if it weren’t for my book club. I really like the premise (what a great idea!) and how well the story is told. The second book is just as great but the third book doesn’t come out until next spring and there’s a fourth book on the way too. Argh… who killed Sutton? You’ll have to tell me what you think after you read book #2 because I have an idea and it would be shocking if it were the killer. I’ll have to check Yertle the turtle.

      Thanks for your feedback on the blog! It was time to revamp it and I’ll have to see how I like it down the road.

      As for the stomach bug, my youngest just barfed 24 hours of meals in his bed this afternoon so I don’t think we’re done yet…

Leave a Reply

