WWW Wednesdays – December 14, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Man's search for meaning by Viktor Frankl

Man's search for meaning by Viktor Frankl

– What I’m currently reading
Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl. Frankl’s vivid memories of his life in the Nazi concentration camps don’t really put me in the mood for Christmas but this book has been on my to-read list for a while and I finally got it from the library, so it was time. An interesting read so far.

– What I recently finished reading
The Christmas Wedding by James Patterson.I had to read this book for my upcoming book club meeting and it was entertaining but nothing more. It has a very predictable plot and is definitely more about weddings than about Christmas. I didn’t find the book well written, more like a lazy writing by a famous author to make some quick bucks on popular themes. Disappointing.

The Christmas Thief by Mary Higgins Clark and Carol Higgins Clark. This was a fun read, like any other Mary Higgins Clark and Carol Higgins Clark’s novels. Interesting characters, a plot that keeps unraveling throughout the book with a few unexpected twists. And as always the good guys win, the bad guys get caught and my nails are shorter by the time I’m done with the book.

– What I think I’ll read next
Good question. I’m not sure yet but I do have some books on my own shelf I could pick from and I’ve ordered more from the library. It will all depend what comes up by the time I’m done with Frankl’s book.

My kids’ bookshelf

The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson

The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson

What they’re currently reading

 The Scaredy Squirrel series by Melanie Watt. We LOVE these books! Scaredy Squirrel, like many of our own younsters, thinks the world is quite a scary place and doesn’t dare to venture into the unknown.  Until… something disturbs his routine (or his plan, depending on the book) and forces him stretch his boundaries. His backup plan? Playing dead. Very funny illustrations in a picture book/comic strip format, great for kids 4 to 8. I believe we have been reading all the books in the series:
Scaredy Squirrel
Scaredy Squirrel makes a friend
Scaredy Squirrel has a birthday party
Scaredy Squirrel at night
Scaredy Squirrel at the beach
 
What they recently finished reading
The Gruffalo and The Gruffalo’s Child by Julia Donaldson. Why we have never read these books until now, I don’t know. But I’m so happy we discovered them because they are great! The Gruffalo tells the story of a clever mouse using the threat of a terrifying creature (the Gruffalo) to avoid being eaten by several animals in the forest, until he meets that creature himself and has to outwit it too. The Gruffalo’s Child is the sequel to this story.
 
Don’t Pop Your Cork on Mondays! : The Children’s Anti-Stress Book by Adolph Moser. This is a great book for kids showing the causes and effects of stress and various ways to deal with stress every day. Our personal favorite is to “outension the tension.” There are more books in this series, so they’re on my requested list at the library.
 
– What I think they’ll read next
I just picked up more books with a Christmas theme at the library this morning so they’ll probably make it to this list next week.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

2 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – December 14, 2011

  1. Hope you get some great books in your “stocking” this Christmas.

    Did you see my Cow Santa?
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/12/13/the-friendly-beasts/

    He wishes you a Moo~rry Christ~Moos! :D

    • Very cute cow!
      The boys are getting lots of new books and I’m getting a few too so we’re in luck. We’re also getting a TON of books from the library right now so we’ll have time to read during the school break.

Leave a Reply

