10 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – November 16, 2011

  1. I just finished reading a pile of “kid’s books” ~ Dr. Doolittle, A Wrinkle in Time, Mr. Popper’s Penguins, Pippi Longstocking, etc. TONS of fun!

    Feel better SOON.

  2. Sorry to hear about your shoulder! :( Hope it gets better quickly!

    • The steroids seem to be working, but I’m worried about what will happen when the treatment is over. Definitely something to share with others, but I want to see a happy ending first.

      • I’m interested to know more as a giver of flu vacs and never having, to my knowledge caused damage….

        was the jab given in the right place?

      • And THAT is exactly the answer to my pain. Of course not, but it took me a couple of days to figure out what was going on, because there’s not much on the internet about my case and my doctor brushed off the possibility the shot could have caused such injury, for obvious fear of malpractice suit.

        I’ve had dozens of shots in my life and I’ve never experienced so much pain. The nurse poked me way, way too high up in the arm, as in the shoulder. Yes, the hard muscle, full of tendons, fat free part. The poking hurt, it took her a very long time to get the solution in there. A few hours later my arm was killing me, whether I moved it or not. The whole weekend I was in so much pain, I had to take pain killers, and they didn’t work that great. After a lot of online research, I came to the conclusion I got “brachial plexus neuritis”, which a nerve irritation/injury due to the shot and its location. It’s very rare but it happens. The oral steroids have helped a lot but my shoulder is not perfect, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed. I don’t wish this pain to anyone, it’s awful.

        Next time I get a shot, I’ll make sure I get it in the right place, even if it has to be in my rear end!

  3. Hmmm. Sad that a trained nurse could get this wrong. You’ve probably discovered by now the right place for a flu jab…

    • The nurse’s biggest mistake was to stand up while I was sitting down, so she poked me too high and at the wrong angle (right around that acromion process in your video). I’m almost done with my steroid treatment and my arm is starting to hurt again, so I’m afraid this problem may not go as fast as I want. Who knew one flu shot would cause so much pain?

  4. I LOVE the Princess Bride, almost obsessively. A great way to feel better! Flu shots always hurt me for about a week or so, but wow, nothing like yours, so sorry for what you are going through. My kids are reading the Ricky Ricotta series by Dav Pilkey. The 3 yr old chose it at the library, and I was afraid of it at first, but they are very cute and get us all laughing.

Leave a Reply

