WWW Wednesdays – November 9, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

I read two great books this past week (yeah!) and I also happened to read two hilarious Chritmas-themed books with my kids.

My bookshelf

The Princess Bride by William GoldmanWhat I’m currently reading
The Princess Bride by William Goldman. I’ve seen the movie several times and it’s one of my favorites. I had no idea the movie was inspired by a book originally published in 1973. I hope it’s as good as the movie!

– What I recently finished reading
The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd. I loved reading this book and I couldn’t help rooting for Lily and Rosaleen to find a happy ending to their ordeal. I loved how each chapter started with a quote about bees and how each plays a role in the hive, and how relevant the quote was to each particular chapter. A great way to keep things flowing and tight together, especially since bees and honey play such a central part in this story. This book is well written and I had a hard time putting it down for wanting to find closure and relief. Great list of well-developed characters, which all have an interesting story to tell. I highly recommend this book.

The Lying Game by Sarah Shepard. I read this book for my November book club meeting and I’m not sure I would have picked it up if it were not for this reason. Boy, I would have missed out on a great mystery and thriller! Even though this is a Young Adult novel I really enjoyed it and got sucked right into it. I loved the premise and how the story focuses on both Sutton and Emma as main characters, telling the story through each other’s eyes. I like how the characters were developed, even though most of them are despicable by nature. After figuring out Sutton was dead, I so wanted to follow Emma and find out who the killer is. Boy, I had no idea this book was the first of a series so the end is actually a cliffhanger but now I’m determined to read the next books in this series. An easy read and a nail biter for sure, and hard to put down.

– What I think I’ll read next
So I have One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez sitting on my bookshelf, but I’m not sure I’m in the mood for it right now. What do you find?

My kids’ bookshelf

I found two books with a Christmas theme this past week and my boys and I have laughed so much reading them, I want to spotlight them in this post. If you’re looking for fun, memorable books about Christmas to read with your kids, I highly recommend these two.

Silent Night by Sandy Turner

Silent Night by Sandy Turner

If you read this book out loud, be ready to bark, yap and grrr the whole length of the book, while your kids giggle the whole way through. A yappy little dog feels Santa is about to come on Christmas night and tries to alert his owners of the intruder, over and over.

Silent night cartoon book

By the time Santa leaves, this poor dog has gone bezerk! And yes, all the text says on the page spread below is BARK BARK BARK YAP YAP BARK YAP YAP YAP… How fun is that to read?!

Silent Night by Sandy Turner - barking dog

Fortunately the cat manages to shut him up so that everyone can enjoy the rest of a silent night. There’s a great surprise for kids at the very end of the book but I won’t spoil it. Just this part is worth getting the book.

The cat shuts up the dog in Silent Night

The second book is called Bah! Humbug? by Lorna & Lecia Balian.

Bah! Humbug? by Lorna Balian

This girl’s brother tells her they need to stay up all night to catch Santa coming down the chimney. The funny thing is, the girl stays awake but her brother falls asleep, and Santa doesn’t set off any of the traps the boy prepared. Santa is the one who looks quite surprised!

Bah! Humbug? book

This girl is so lucky she gets to eat cookies on Santa’s lap while her brother is STILL sleeping. If you’re looking for a story to put you and your kids in the mood for Christmas, this is it!

Bah! Humbug? Christmas story book

– What I think they’ll read next
I have so many books on order at the library, and I’m not sure what’s coming soon. Next week I’ll cover some great books we’ve been recently reading I didn’t include in today’s post.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

4 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – November 9, 2011

  1. The Princess Bride is on my To Read List too! :) I have seen the movie, The Secret Life of Bees, but not read the book, although I HAVE read her other book, The Mermaid Chair, this year. There’s a TV series on ABC Family based on The Lying Game books….the first season ended a few weeks ago with a cliffhanger of Sutton driving and ending up in water, BUT it didn’t say what happened next…so I guess I’ll find out next season that she died! I like some young adult shows and novels……I think Sara Shepherd also does the Pretty Little Liars series of books, which are also a ABC Family series I watch. I haven’t read any of the books because I don’t want to give away what happens on the TV show, though.
    Cute Christmas books….The scene with the cat and dog reminds me of my husband’s old cat he had at his parents that used to jump up and hiss at the dogs whenever they were being noisy and they would then calm down!

    • I understand The Lying Game TV series is based on the book but the story is different, so I’d rather read the book. I was surprised how much it kept me wanting to continue. You should read The secret life of bees, it’s probably 100% better than the movie. I really loved that book. I’ll let you know what I think of The princess bride. So far, it’s interesting but with the 30th anniversary edition, there are a lots of prologues and it takes a while to get into the story. William Goldman is an interesting guy. He also wrote Marathon Man (the book and the screenplay) and I thought both were masters of thrillers and almost gave me heart attacks.
      Interesting comment about a cat calming dogs. I guess it happens in real life!

  2. Great list. I love that Santa on Silent Night. :D

    Want to win some FREE books?
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/11/10/happy-haulidays/

Leave a Reply

