WWW Wednesdays – November 2, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

I’m so behind on writing posts and it’s not because I’m out of ideas. I want to write one review on a great book It think all parents should read, one commentary on a recent NPR article that made me angry, and my “101 in 1001” update for October 2011. But I’m not the most productive person at this time. Being tired really can impact your daily performance in many ways… Unfortunately all I found the time for today is my WWW Wednesdays and I’ve read some great books this past week, so I’m happy to share them with you.

By the way, something really cool happened last week. Deborah Diesen, author of the Pout-Pout Fish books, stopped by my blog and commented on my WWW Wednesdays – October 12, 2011 update, where I mentioned we were reading her latest book, The Pout-Pout Fish in the Big-Big Dark. How nice is that? I’m still waiting for Mo Willems to stop by, say hi and thank me for all the nice things I’ve said about his very entertaining books. Just saying, Mo.

My bookshelf

The secret life of bees by Sue Monk Kidd

The secret life of bees by Sue Monk Kidd

What I’m currently reading
The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd. I’m about two thirds into it and I can’t put it down. I so want it to have a happy ending for Lily and Rosaleen but I know they still have a lot of obstacles to overcome.

– What I recently finished reading
Dreamers, Discoverers & Dynamos: How to Help the Child Who Is Bright, Bored and Having Problems in School by Lucy Jo Palladino. If you have a smart, active child who is having a hard time in school, this book is for you. Palladino covers the three (sometimes overlapping) types of Edison-trait personalities: the dreamers, the discoverers and the dynamos. These children exhibit divergent thinking (always thinking what if?) while most school systems cater to and encourage convergent thinkers. However you’ll quickly notice most people who have helped improve the human condition were Edison-trait personalities, so the key is to help your child develop his/her talents while finding ways to cope with an inflexible educational structure. And if you wonder if your child may have ADD or ADHD, there are a few chapters on that subject and how to find the information you need to get your child properly diagnosed. A great read!

– What I think I’ll read next
The Lying Game by Sarah Shepard. It’s for my November book club meeting and it looks like an interesting read.

My kids’ bookshelf

Rude Mule by Pamela Duncan Edwards

Rude Mule by Pamela Duncan Edwards

– What they’re currently reading
Oops and Hogwash by Arthur Geisert. Two wordless books that let your child describe the events page by page on his/her own. Great for kids who can’t read on their own since they can narrate the story themselves. Great for kids who can read as they make up their own narrative.
Jack and the Night Visitors by Pat Schories (the lady who illustrated the Biscuit books). A boy and his dog Jack get to see some uninvited guests in their house during the night. We also have Breakfast for Jack and my kids really like both wordless books.

– What they recently finished reading
We’ve had a few issues with bad manners recently so I stocked up on books to teach the proper way to do things. These are the books my kids really enjoyed and seemed to have learned something from.
Rude Mule by Pamela Duncan Edwards. A fun lesson on good manners and how behaving poorly never helps you get what you want.  
The Bad Good Manners Book by Babette Cole. An hilarious book illustrating the bad things you shouldn’t do and what happens if you dare to.
Look Mom! I Have Good Manners! This one is actually a DVD but it works well at showing several behaviors and ask your child which one is the most appropriate in a quiz show format.

– What I think they’ll read next
More wordless books and easy readers are in order…

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

2 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – November 2, 2011

  1. I loved The Secret Life of Bees ~ book and movie. I saw the movie first, or I’m sure I would have been disappointed with what got left out. :D

    • I’m not sure I’d want to see the movie now, specifically for this reason of wanting to compare it to the book and not find it as good. I hope I get to read more books like this one in the future, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

