WWW Wednesdays – October 26, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

After the disappointment of Me Talk Pretty One Day, I read a wonderfully entertaining book this past week and borrowed a bunch of great books for the kids too. Good reading times!

My bookshelf

Dreamers, discoverers and dynamosWhat I’m currently reading
Dreamers, Discoverers & Dynamos: How to Help the Child Who Is Bright, Bored and Having Problems in School by Lucy Jo Palladino. I’m reading this book to help my five year old, who is a discoverer / dynamo child and has a hard time fitting into a rigid, same-for-everyone education system. There are many steps you can follow as a parent of an Edison-trait child to help him or her take advantage or their wonderful talents without getting in trouble with the people who just don’t understand how they think and function. So far, I’m enjoying the read and learning a lot. 

– What I recently finished reading
Gone With a Handsomer Man by Michael Lee West. I’d never would have picked this book was it not for my book club, but I’m glad I read it because I loved it! How to describe it is the hardest part. Mix a murder mystery (add a few murders as you go), romance, deceit, humor and a whole lot of cake baking, all with a large dose of Southern flair, and it barely gives the book justice. I’m usually good at guessing mysteries but I never saw this one coming and I loved how things unwrapped, up to the very last sentence. Michael Lee West clearly doesn’t take herself too seriously and this allows her to write freely and in a fun way, giving a lot of depth to her many characters. How fun is the writing? One of the chapters start with “Here in Charleston, you can’t swing a squirrel without hitting a professional chef, but I was determined to find a cooking job.” And yes, the whole book is like that. If you’re looking for a book that has a little bit of everything, this is it!

– What I think I’ll read next
The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd. It’s still waiting on my bookshelf, along with other books but I’m worried I’ll have to return some before I even start reading them, just because I got all of them at the same time and the library won’t let me renew because of their popularity.

My kids’ bookshelf

– What they’re currently reading
Irving and Muktuk : Two Bad Bears by Daniel Pinkwater. We’ve read the various adventures of Irving and Muktuk in the past but they never fail to entertain and make us laugh. Who doesn’t like to see two polar bears goof around, unable to resist eating blueberry muffins? We’ll get more of the series in the near future.
Splat the Cat and the duck with no quack by Rob Scotton. This one is not as funny as the other Splat the Cat books but it’s still a great story to read with the kids. As a Level 2 book, it’s also great for emerging readers.
Days with Frog and Toad by Arnold Lobel. This book contains two very funny stories and two more touching/reflective. This is another Level 2 book, great for new readers.

Llama Llama home with mama– What they recently finished reading
Llama Llama Home With Mama by Anna Dewdney. The newest book in the Llama Llama series, and it’s as cute as the others. Find out what happens when Llama Llama gets sick and has to stay home with Mama.
Into the Forest by Anthony Browne. A book that will remind readers of The Little Riding Hood but with a great twist at the end. A great read to confront fears and worries and make kids understand that sometimes, there’s no need to be afraid.

– What I think they’ll read next
As usual, this is quite unpredictable but more books are on order at the library!

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

3 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – October 26, 2011

  1. that book on children sounds very interesting! I could have done with a book on different learning styles when my two were small!

    by the way I have posted a cow as requested.
    http://pseu1.wordpress.com/2011/11/01/november-with-numerous-commitments-and-a-cow/

    • It was a very interesting book but only fits one of my kids (and I got good ideas out of it). A better book for any parent is the one I mentioned a couple of weeks ago(https://perfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com/2011/10/12/www-wednesdays-october-12-2011/). It’s called Nurture by Nature and lets you figure out which of the 16 personality types your child is, and tells you what they are like, what motivates them, what turns them off. It was a real eye opener for me and has helped me understand a lot about my kids and how to best interact with them. I really need to write a separate post about it because I think it’s one of the best parenting books I’ve ever read.

      And what a cute cow, thank you! It’s going on today’s post. I’ll give you the link later.

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays – August 8, 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

