WWW Wednesdays – October 12, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

This has been a very unproductive week in reading for me but my kids have found some great books to read, so I’m happy for them.

My bookshelf

Me talk pretty one day by David SedarisWhat I’m currently reading
“Me Talk Pretty One Day” by David Sedaris. Yes, I’m still reading this book and I’m about half way through. I thought I’d enjoy reading it much more, but apart from some funny moments, this type of humor doesn’t agree with me. I do like caustic humor and sarcasm but this guy is just not that funny. I only hope it gets better in the second part.

– What I recently finished reading
“Nurture by Nature: Understand Your Child’s Personality Type – And Become a Better Parent” by Paul Tieger & Barbara Barron-Tieger. I still have to write a separate post about this and I think you’ll want to pick up the book afterwards and see how this can help you understand your kids better.

– What I think I’ll read next
“The Secret Life of Bees” by Sue Monk Kidd. This book is patiently waiting for me at the library, along with a few others. I hope I enjoy the read more than “Me Talk Pretty One Day”. I need a good book right now!

My kids’ bookshelf

The pout-pout fish in the big-big dark– What they’re currently reading
I just got my kids a whole bunch of books on nature, science and the human body and we’re enjoying learning more about everything every day.
“You Can’t Taste a Pickle With Your Ear: A Book About Your 5 Senses” by Harriet Ziefert – a book with funny illustrations and cool rhymes to learn more about the 5 senses.
“Amazing Bats” by Seymour Simon – a short book but full of interesting information about bats. Did you know the giant flying ox has a wingspan of 6 feet? Yikes!
“The Pout-Pout Fish in the Big-Big Dark” by Deborah Diesen – a really cool, cool book about Pout-Pout Fish conquering his fears of the dark to retrieve a pearl, and finding encouragement along the way every time he’s ready to give up. My kids really like this book and I highly recommend it. By the way, this is the sequel to The Pout-Pout Fish by Deborah Diesen, which I recommend too.

– What they recently finished reading
– “It’s Christmas, David” by David Shannon – the Christmas version of the adventures of mischievous little David, including a page where David writes his name in the snow… with his own pee! My kids were actually shocked when they realized what David did and their surprised faces were priceless to watch.
“Splat the Cat: Good Night, Sleep Tight” by Rob Scotton – inspired by Scotton but written by someone else, this is an “I can read” book (level 1) and it tells of the hilarious sleepover adventure Splat the Cat has with his friends in his backyard.

– What I think they’ll read next
I’m still looking for season related books (Halloween, Thanksgiving, and soon Christmas) so we’ll probably get to read many new books in the near future with these themes. Feel free to suggest!

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

6 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – October 12, 2011

  1. I read some David Sedaris, but it didn’t make me smile either – shame as it was hyped up!

    • Thank you for telling me I’m not the only one to like it, although the second part of the book wasn’t as bad as the first one. The part that made me laugh is when he decided to take an IQ test and failed so poorly, he didn’t even share his IQ score. I wanted to scream: and you had to take an IQ test for that? I could have told you myself after reading the first 50 pages of this book! It’s amazing how some people manage to get published when their stuff isn’t that good.

  2. I ran across your blog post and just wanted to say Thank You to you for including The Pout-Pout Fish books in your list! I’m glad your kids enjoy them.

    Best Fishes to you and your family,
    Debbie Diesen (author of The Pout-Pout Fish)

    • Hi Debbie! Thank you for stopping by. We first read The Pout-Pout Fish a couple of months ago and the kids really enjoyed it. I liked the concept behind it, showing kids that depending on your perspective, a pout-pout mouth can actually be a smile. The kids also really enjoyed The Pout-Pout Fish in the Big Big Dark and the story of encouragement behind it. What a great way to illustrate that perseverance always pays, something I tell my kids every day. I’m looking forward to reading more of your books.

Leave a Reply

