www Wednesdays – October 5, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

This past week has been quite stressful so it’s been great to be able to read a few good books to bring some positive in my life to offset the negative…

My bookshelf

Me talk pretty one day by David SedarisWhat I’m currently reading
Me Talk Pretty One Day” by David Sedaris. I’m just a couple of chapters into it, but I like it so far.

I’m also devouring “Nurture by Nature: Understand Your Child’s Personality Type – And Become a Better Parent” by Paul Tieger & Barbara Barron-Tieger. This book is SO good, I’ve had tons of lightbulb moments and I’ll share more details about it in a separate post within the next few days.

– What I recently finished reading
“The Body” by Stephen King. I know King is mostly known for his horror/terror books but really, his masterpieces are the life stories he writes so well: The Green Mile, The Shawshank Redemption, and this story. King has such a good grasp of all human emotions and thoughts and is such a good writer… His words just flow on the page and you never want to put the book down. “The Body” is no exception and I really enjoyed the read. I’m not sure I want to see the movie “Stand by Me” now, as it just can’t be as good as the original story…

– What I think I’ll read next
I was going to read “The Hypnotist” by Lars Kepler because NPR had a great review on their website, but after reading the book reviews on Amazon I changed my mind. So now I don’t know what I’ll be reading next, but I still have a few books on the shelf.

 My kids’ bookshelf

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom– What they’re currently reading
More David Shannon books, specifically “Too Many Toys” – find out what happens when a mom wants to get rid of some of Spencer’s toys after they overtake the house.

“Chicka chicka boom boom” by Bill Martin, Jr. My youngest requested this book a few weeks ago and we finally got it from the library. It is quite a funny book to teach the alphabet! The very day we got the book, my five-year-old asked, Mama, how come you didn’t also get Chicka Chicka 123? I guess I’ll be getting this one soon too!

– What they recently finished reading
“The Foolish Tortoise” by Richard Buckley (illustrated by Eric Carle) – when a tortoise decides to get rid of its shell because it’s too heavy, it quickly realizes this may not be such a good idea…

“My Sitter is a T-Rex!” by Paul Orshoski – somehow you quickly start wondering if leaving your child with a T-Rex for a few hours is reasonable. Great story for kids who love dinosaurs.

– What I think they’ll read next
I’m looking for season related books (Halloween, Thanksgiving, and soon Christmas) so we’ll probably get to read many new books in the near future with these themes. Feel free to suggest!

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

2 responses to “www Wednesdays – October 5, 2011

  1. Stephen King is awesome, I love everything he has ever wrote!

Leave a Reply

