www Wednesdays – September 21, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

September has been a very hectic month so far and it’s been hard to find time for myself to read, but I’m taking it one day at a time.

My bookshelf

One day in the life of Ivan Denisovich– What I’m currently reading
One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. We’ve all heard about life in the Siberian gulags but reading a novel based on the author’s personal experience is something else.

– What I recently finished reading
Good Enough to Eat by Stacy Ballis, my book club’s September selection. Definitely a chick lit book, entertaining enough but I didn’t like the ending, as I felt it was the easy way out. You know the way, when authors are not sure how to make it a good ending, so they leave things hanging, leaving it up to your imagination to figure it out. There were also a good number of characters and I don’t think the author spent enough time on any of them to make me care enough about them. There’s an impressive list of recipes at the end of the book. Each recipe has a “normal” version and a “healthier” version you can choose instead. A novel and a cookbook in one, who knew?

– What I think I’ll read next
I have three or four books waiting for me on the bookshelf. I think my next pick will be whichever needs to go back to the library first, as I have a feeling I won’t be able to return any of them when their due date comes up.

My kids’ bookshelf

Yuck! That's not a monster!– What they’re currently reading
– Yuck! That’s Not a Monster! by Angela McAllister. Super cute story about a monster couple who has three new monster babies, one of which looks very cute rather than monstrous. A good lesson on being different and what good can come out of it.
Eating With Lily and Milo by Pauline Oud. A funny book about two friends getting everything ready for eating outside and left without any of the food they picked by the end. What happened to the food? You’ll have to read to find out…
Termite Tales by Kathy Caple. This book is part of the “Brand New Readers” series and I love it! My five year old picks it up and reads the whole thing out loud to his brother every day. It’s definitely helping with his reading skills and giving him a lot of confidence. I highly recommend it! Besides the stories are very funny. Who would take a termite on a canoe ride, when the thing is made out of wood?

– What they recently finished reading
We’ve had a few of the “Pup and Hound” book series by Susan Hood. These books are for early readers and the stories are cute and entertaining. Hound is the older, experienced dog and puppy is, well, a puppy! I recommend all the books in the series, and so far we’ve read these:
Pup and Hound
Pup and Hound Move In
Pup and Hound In Trouble
Pup and Hound Play Copycats

– What I think they’ll read next
I’m trying to get more of the Brand New Readers series to help my son with his reading skills. I also have requested a number of storybooks but I’m not sure what will be coming in when. Getting books from the library always add an element of surprise!

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

2 responses to “www Wednesdays – September 21, 2011

  1. My boys are hooked on Chicka Chicka Boom Boom right now. They have it memorized and are so cute performing it!

Leave a Reply

