www Wednesdays – September 7, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

With a three-day weekend and school starting, our reading habits have been moved around but we still managed to read some good things this past week.

The man in the Rockfeller suit by Mark SealMy bookshelf

– What I’m currently reading
The Man in the Rockefeller Suit by Mark Seal. What a fascinating story about a pathological lier who managed to create rich characters for himself, sucking the money out of real rich people and living off them until he finds a better deal. There’s even a story about an unsolved murder this crook may have been involved in. I can’t wait to see what else he can come up with! This is “Catch Me If You Can” with a very disturbing twist.

– What I recently finished reading
The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott. I liked this book, even though I didn’t realize it would end in a cliffhanger and I now have to read books 2 and 3 (I hope that’s it!). It’s like a mix between Harry Potter because of all the magic, and The Da Vinci Code because of the various divinity references. This was an easy read, even though it was hard to put the book down at the end of a chapter, and I enjoyed the vivid descriptions that helped me visualize each setting in my mind very clearly. I recommend this book to anyone who likes this genre.

– What I think I’ll read next
Good Enough to Eat by Stacy Ballis. I have to read it for my next book club meeting at the end of September. Again, probably not a book I’d pick on my own, so it should be a nice change of pace.

My kids’ bookshelf

What Is That? Said The Cat by Grace Maccarone– What they’re currently reading
We discovered two new book series (new to us) this past week and my boys really like them. They are very suitable for kids between 3 and 6, to read with someone or on my own.
– Fancy Nancy by Jane O’Connor: this eccentric elementary school girl takes you inside her classroom and out in the world, teaching you new vocabulary words along the way. What happens to her feels very real and it helps kids relate to her (even if they are boys!). So far we’ve read Fancy Nancy at the Museum and Fancy Nancy: Every Day is Earth Day. We’ll definitely had to get more of them at the library.
Oliver Pig and his sister Amanda Pig by Jean Van Leeuwen: fun books about a brother and his sister having everyday adventures. My kids ask to read the books we have at least once a day – I see it as a good sign.

– What they recently finished reading
Actual Size by Steve Jenkins. What a great book to learn more about animals. Each page spread pictures an animal or part of an animal to show you how big they are. Warning, there are so pretty gross pictures of insects and arachnids in there, but kids dig it.
It’s a Book by Lane Smith. Very funny book pinpointing the differences between reading from a real book and from a computer. Find out which one the characters like at the end…
What Is That? Said The Cat by Grace Maccarone. Funny book full of short rhymes for emergent readers. It will teach kids a few things about being too curious too.

– What I think they’ll read next
We’re getting a whole bunch of the “Fly Guy” books by Tedd Arnold so I’ll highlight some of them next week.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

4 responses to “www Wednesdays – September 7, 2011

  1. That “Man in the Rockefeller Suit” book sounds interesting! :)

  2. I am finishing up The Hunger Games trilogy (a fun, quick read) and am about to read some more memoirs.

    My 2yo is currently OBSESSED with The Monster at the End of this Book, which I loved as a little kid. I have to say, though, that its charm is starting to wear off now that I’m reading it 25 times a day. (I wish I were exaggerating.) :)

    • I want to read The Hunger Games at some point, to change pace so I’m glad you like it. I’ll have check The Monster at the End of this Book, looks like fun, at least for a few reads…
      You should try “No laughing, no smiling, no giggling” by James Stevenson. It’s a very funny book telling kids what not to do (so of course they do it!).

Leave a Reply

