www Wednesdays – August 24, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

If you’ve read the same books I read this past week, I’d love to hear what you thought about them.

My bookshelf

The lovely bones by Alice Sebold– What I’m currently reading
Tonight I’ll be starting The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott. What? Michael Scott from NBC’s The Office wrote a book? Not really, but I hope this story is a lot better than The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho.

– What I recently finished reading
I read two books this past week. The first one was Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan. This book is what happens when a journalist who went to Smith College decides to write a fiction novel rather than a non-fiction essay on her alma mater. I didn’t find the story of these four young women that interesting and many of the dialogues were boring, sometimes silly. What happens to April is borderline ridiculous – how gullible can she be? I found most of the book stereotypical and I’d expect more fruitful discussions and behaviors from Smith graduates.

I also read The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. I know some people loved the book while others hated it. The latter think some of the story is hard to believe and I think this point is not relevant. The whole story is narrated by a murdered teenager from her in-between/heaven world. If you believe this is even possible, why not believe the rest? After all, it is a fiction book. I’m a fan of the supernatural and one of my favorite TV shows is Medium, so I’m open to reading about “irrational” events. To me, a good book is one you don’t want to put down as it sucks you in, and this did it. The only thing I didn’t like was the violent and gruesome, but necessary, details. They were very difficult to read, especially as a parent, but overall I liked this book.

– What I think I’ll read next
I just got a whole bunch of books from the library and I have a feeling I won’t have time to read them all before their time at my house is up. My next book will probably be The Man in the Rockefeller Suit by Mark Seal, the true story of a serial impostor. Fascinating!

My kids’ bookshelf

The mixed-up chameleon by Eric Carle– What they’re currently reading
We discovered several really nice books recently and the kids can’t seem to get enough of them:
The Trucker by Brenda Weatherby (cute story about a very boyish boy whose mom tries to make more sensitive by giving him a cat)
Alice the Fairy by David Shannon (hilarious story of a girl who tries to do magic on her belongings and family – my kids loved this one!)
The Mixed-Up Chameleon by Eric Carle (I love the cut-outs throughout the book, a great addition to a story about a confused chameleon)

– What they recently finished reading
We finally got to read a few of the Junie B. Jones books by Barbara Park. Junie B. has to be one of the funniest kindergarteners we’ve ever met and my kids (mostly my 5-year old) enjoy reading her adventures. However I can’t get past Junie B.’s atrocious English grammar. At five years old, she doesn’t know any of her irregular verbs and clearly doesn’t understand adverbs, so some sentences look like this: “I shaked it real good” (and no, I’m not making this up!). I just don’t get it. Even my youngest speaks better English. Since I’m the one reading the books out loud, I’m correcting the grammar as I go. Somebody please teach Junie B. proper English!!!

– What I think they’ll read next
Good question! At this point, I don’t know but we’re planning a trip to the library this week, so we’ll see.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

3 responses to “www Wednesdays – August 24, 2011

  1. I was bothered by Junie B’s grammar as well. Like a bad actor’s fake accent. I’ve never heard children speak like that, and I’m a teacher. Oh well, my daughter just thinks it is funny (she’s 7). She has 2 new Junie B books from the library and I love to hear her laugh out loud while reading.

    • Thank you!!! I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks five year olds don’t (or shouldn’t) speak this poorly (my husband thinks it’s OK, wonderful). I don’t mind the funny expressions Junie B can come up with and her thoughts and actions are hilarious. Her parents have to be illiterate to allow her to speak this way. I feel sorry for her teachers, they’ve got lots of catching-up to do!

  2. Erm… Yes, I’m a bit behind!! ;-)

Leave a Reply

