www Wednesdays – August 17, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

We’ve done a lot of great reading this past week, so I’m excited to share our discoveries with you.

My bookshelf

Commencement by J Courtney Sullivan– What I’m currently reading
I just started “Commencement” by J. Courtney Sullivan. I know I said last week I’d be reading “The Lovely Bones” by Alice Seibold next, but I just joined a book club (one of my 101 in 1001 tasks). The book to read by the end of this month is Commencement, definitely not something I’d pick on my own, but book clubs are here to expand our horizons so I’m glad to have this experience.

– What I recently finished reading
Rebecca” by Daphne DuMaurier. This is a wonderful read, a mix of romance, mystery and emotional struggles. I’m usually good at guessing what’s going to happen next in a book or a movie, but I never guessed how this story was going to turn out (except the very, very end). Many twists kept me on my toes, making me eager to find out how things would wrap up. I’ll be watching the movie soon (with Alfred Hitchcock as the director!). Now here’s the weirdest thing about reading Rebecca. About an hour after I finished the book, something clicked inside my head. Hey, I’ve read this book before!!! I must have been a teenager then and I believe I read it in French. It was quite amazing to read this book for a second time without any recollection of the first time the whole length of the book!

– What I think I’ll read next
The Lovely Bones” by Alice Seibold. It will be quite a different read from Commencement, so I’m looking forward to getting to it eventually. I have lots of great books coming my way, so I’m going to have to pick up the pace if I want to read them because the library asks for them back!

My kids’ bookshelf

Mister Seahorse by Eric Carle– What they’re currently reading
My oldest has finally requested we read the first Harry Potter (Harry Potter and the chamber of secrets”) together and he’s enjoying it so far. I promised him we’ll watch the movie when we’re done, which seems to keep him motivated.”
We’re also reading some great books about nature, and our favorites are:
“Mister Seahorse” by Eric Carle (where you lerarn that seahorses are not the only male underwater creatures to take care of their babies)
“Secret Seahorse” by Stella Blackstone (the illustrations are made out of fabric!)
“Do frogs have fur? : a book about animal coats and coverings by Michael Dahl (great book to learn more about this subject)

– What they recently finished reading
I’d like to thank my fellow blogger at Pseu1’s Blog for recommending the Hairy Maclary books by Lynley Dodd. So far we’ve read “Hairy Maclary from Donaldson’s Dairy” and “Hairy Maclary’s caterwaul caper” and the kids enjoy the stories and the narrative very much. I don’t think I would ever have known about these books unless someone mentioned them to me, so thanks again!

– What I think they’ll read next
We’re getting books about sharks, pirates, seasons and school – what a mixed bag! I’ll highlight those we like best when we get to read them.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

4 responses to “www Wednesdays – August 17, 2011

  1. I am so glad you liked Rebecca! :)

  2. Congratulations on joining the book club!!

    The lovely bones is well worth reading. Have a tissue next to you. We like the Hairy Maclary books too.

    • I’m done with The Lovely Bones – you’re behind on reading my posts. ;-) and yes, I liked it a lot but I didn’t cry, surprisingly. I think I left all of my tears in A Dog’s Purpose. Did you ever try the Mercy Watson books with your daughter?

Leave a Reply

