www Wednesdays – August 10, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

This past week has been interesting from a reading perspective. It was a mixed bag of disappointments and exciting adventures.

My bookshelf

Divine secrets of the ya-ya sisterhood by Rebecca Wells

Divine secrets of the ya-ya sisterhood by Rebecca Wells

– What I’m currently reading
I just started “Rebecca” by Daphne DuMaurier (Sharon at The Real Sharon inspired me to read it after she liked it so much). The book had been sitting on my personal bookshelf for a long time. The first time I tried to read it years ago, I couldn’t get past the first chapter and the dream about Manderley. This time, I made it past a few chapters and things are getting really interesting and mysterious. I can’t wait to see where the story goes.

– What I recently finished reading
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood” by Rebecca Wells. Well, “finished reading” is not the accurate term – I couldn’t finish the damn book. After going through two thirds of the book, I couldn’t justify wasting any more of my time on this piece of junk. I thought maybe it was me, doomed with my personal busyness and impatience. But when I read Amazon reviews from other people who didn’t like this book, I saw I had plenty of company. If you liked this book, I congratulate for reading it from one end to the another, but I personally can’t recommend it. It’s poorly written, the story is sooooo boooooring, going nowhere. The characters are so uninteresting and I could care less what happens to any of them. And there are so many stereotypes about the South, and cliches about chick lit. Oh, did I forget to mention the word “ya-ya” is splattered about 100 times over the first 200 pages? Ugh, these were a few hours of reading I’ll never get back. Please warn me next time!

– What I think I’ll read next
The Lovely Bones” by Alice Seibold. This is a murder mystery told from the victim’s point of view in her after-life. Quite an interesting concept! I’m interested in seeing the movie but the book should come first.

My kids’ bookshelf

Three tales of my father's dragon by Ruth Stiles Barnett

Three tales of my father's dragon by Ruth Stiles Barnett

– What they’re currently reading
We’re back in our “Froggy” phase, the hilarious books by Jonathan London. Our favorite has to be “Froggy Eats Out“, where Froggy manages to pull the table cloth off the table at the fancy restaurant and land a bowl of spaghetti all over him. My kids can’t stop looking at the illustrations with their bulged-out eyes – how shocking of Froggy! That’s why we don’t go to restaurants with table cloths.

Minnie and Moo : the attack of the Easter bunnies” by Denys Cazet. We are fans of the two cows Minnie and Moo and can’t have enough of their funny adventures. In this book, they look for farm animals to dress up as the Easter bunny since the farmer doesn’t want to do it this year. The ending is surprising and laugh-out-loud funny. It’s not called the attack of the Easter bunnie for no reason.

– What they recently finished reading
Three Tales of My Father’s Dragon” by Ruth Stiles Gannett
I read this book to my five-year-old son and he loved it – perfect for one-on-one time together. He even got to practice his reading skills on almost every page. This is a great chapter book for children 4 to 8 years old (to read on their own or with a parent). This is a trilogy and each book follows the previous story towards the conclusion. The drawings on most pages help the child understand what is going on. Lots of adventures, intricate situations requiring imagination and intelligence to get out of. I highly recommend it!

– What I think they’ll read next
We still haven’t started any of the Junie B. Jones books we have borrowed. I also requested a lot of books the San Diego County Library recommends for four and five year olds, so I’ll let you know if I find any good ones.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

6 responses to “www Wednesdays – August 10, 2011

  1. Good to know about the Divine Secrets….It never sounded that interesting to me so I now I know it’s not worth the time anyways!
    I’m glad you’re liking “Rebecca”…..not sure about the writing of Divine Secrets, but I think the writing in “Rebecca” was wonderful…I am interested to see if it’s only me that thinks that book is so great. I just fell in love with the author…..I want to read more by Daphne Du Maurier now! :)
    I can’t wait to see what you think of ‘The Lovely Bones”…I have seen the movie but never read the book…..I own the book, though, I got it a library book sale a couple years ago and haven’t read it yet….maybe if you like it a whole lot, it will inspire me to get to reading it already!

    • I’ve always found the title of the book intriguing and I wanted to know what it was about. Unfortunately, it’s really not about much…
      You’ll definitely hear about The Lovely Bones. I hope this book and Rebecca are good because I need my reading interest to be revived.

  2. I have read ‘The Lovely Bones’ and it had a mixed reception from our reading group. There’s some really good stuff in there, which I enjoyed and it is an interesting perspective….but areas where it doesn’t work so well. I haven’t seen the film.
    (I have also read others by the same author, ‘Lucky’ and ‘The Almost Moon’ )

  3. Have your children read Hairy Maclarey books? Hilarious and great word play

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hairy_Maclary

Leave a Reply

