www Wednesdays – July 20, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

Alright, I think I’ve got everything ready for my son’s birthday family celebration tonight. The Spider-Man cake turned out OK, and you’ll get to see a photo soon. Today is WWW Wednesdays so I wanted to give an update on what my kids and I have been reading.

The talented Mr Ripley by Patricia HighsmithMy bookshelf

– What I’m currently reading
I’m about halfway through The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith. Wow, what an interesting novel about a sociopath character. Even though Highsmith chose the third-person narrative, she really makes the reader realize what’s going on in Ripley’s mind. Fascinating, and very scary.

– What I recently finished reading
I finally finished The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. This novel offers such an interesting, different twist on the common love story. I kept reading wondering where this was going, and now that I’m done, I’m sad to say goodbye to the characters. Impressive feat for a first-time author. The only thing I didn’t like about the book is its length. I felt some parts didn’t add much to the story and could have been edited out to make for a shorter, more powerful book. Overall I recommend this novel to anyone looking to read a great story.

– What I think I’ll read next
Oh my gosh, I just got Tina Fey’s BOSSYPANTS from the library!!! I’ve heard from several people how hilarious (i.e. laugh out loud) this book is, so I can’t wait to dig into it!

My kids’ bookshelf

Pinkalicious by Victoria Kann– What they’re currently reading
I told you last week we had started reading some Lisa Wheeler books. I think my favorite so far are:
Bubble Gum, Bubble Gum
Ugly Pie (which is actually delicious pie)
Old Cricket (because you don’t become an old cricket by being a dumb bug…)
Dino basketball (the woman can write in rhymes using words like stegosaurus and triceratops, she’s quite talented)

– What they recently finished reading
Actually my kids are still asking to read these books but I sooooooo want to take them back to the library because I can’t stand them. The “least” worst of the series is Pinkalicious by Victoria Kann, but the sequels Goldilicious and Purplicious are simply ATROCIOUS. The computer-generated illustrations are not that good, the text is average and could use a lot of editing. Apart from an interesting premise for Pinkalicious, the stories in the other books are booooooring. But my kids really like the books, so I’m trying to be nice by reading them a few more times.

– What I think they’ll read next
I requested several books by John Ligthgow (yes, the actor). He’s been writing children’s books for the past ten years or so and I’d like to see if they’re any good.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

12 responses to “www Wednesdays – July 20, 2011

  1. I recently read ‘The Secret Life of Ms Finkleman’ by Ben H. Winters, and promptly recommended it to my niece. It’s about a kid who discovers that her teacher may be an ex-rock star. It’s written for middle school kids (the lead characters is 12 yo) so your kids are probably too young for it though (although it’s a good read-aloud book, IMO)

    Here’s my WWW Wednesdays (July 20) post!

    • Thanks for your suggestion. I’ll add it to my to-read list and figure out when my kids are big enough to read it with me. I’ve been reading a few short novels already with my eldest, so this should be fun at some point.

  2. I’m about to finish Bossypants. I am avoiding reading the last chapters because I don’t want it to end.
    Audrey Niff…wrote a book called Her Fearful Symmetry that was also good. Not as great as Time Traveller’s Wife, but good.

  3. I can’t wait to read “Bossy Pants”…I am jealous! LOL
    Let me know how good it is! :)

  4. Hi, i don’t really like to read book but I am glad that both my sons really love book. So far we will read bible story book, thomas and friends story books. They still cannot read, they are 3.5 years old and 2 years old. But they do really enjoy to see the book and listen to the story. Their school teacher and sunday school teacher tell me that both of them really enjoy when it is time for story telling.
    I have one post about my kids’ little library and story time is fun time for my boys.
    If you don’t mind please drop by to my blog and i will be more than happy if you are willing to share your thought there :)

    http://www.mylifeismyrainbow.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for stopping by, Yulia. Reading books with your children is very important and a lot of fun. If you encourage them to read with you early enough, they’ll want to read their whole life. Without knowing how to read well and wanting to read, it makes it hard for kids to learn anything. Many times I’ve heard this saying about school: first kids learn how to read, then they read to learn. It’s so true!

  5. Patricia Highsmith is a fantastic author…I want to read:

    Nothing That Meets the Eye: The Uncollected Stories (2002; posthumously published)

    • I love how she manages to write so clearly, yet express so much fascinating information about thoughts and feelings about her characters. I definitely want to read more Ripley books now. And other books of hers.

Leave a Reply

