www Wednesdays – July 13, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

My reading has been pretty slow this past week so most of the updates below are for children’s books this week.

My bookshelf

The talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith– What I’m currently reading
I’m still reading The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I’m tree quarters of the way in and I’m really enjoying it. I so want to know how it ends, even though I know I’ll miss the characters when the book is over.

– What I recently finished reading
Since I’m still reading the same book, I have no updates for this section.

– What I think I’ll read next
Oh, The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith just showed up at my library! This will definitely be my next book. I’ve wanted to see the movie for many years but the book should come first, as always.

My kids’ bookshelf

Should I share my ice cream by Mo Willems– What they’re currently reading
The brand new “Should I Share My Ice Cream?” by Mo Willems and they love it! OK, I do too. The story is hilarious, sweet and agonizing. And it illustrates my husband’s worst nightmare about ice cream cones, so it’s a plus. I recommend this book to all kids between 3 and 6.

We’re also reading the new Rob Scotton book, “Splish, Splash, Splat!”. My kids have been taking swim lessons for several weeks so this book is a perfect companion to help them conquer any fear of water they may have. If a cat manages to like water, so should they!

– What they recently finished reading
We recently revisited a storytime favorite, “Interrupting Chicken” by David Ezra Stein. If your little ones interrupt you during storytime, this is the book for you. Lovely painted illustrations and a laugh-out-aloud storyline will help kids understand why interrupting the reader can be frustrating.

– What I think they’ll read next
We’ve borrowed a number of Lisa Wheeler books and are starting to make a dent into the pile. Wheeler likes to write in rhymes and she’s quite talented at it. I’ll comment on her books next week after we have a chance to read a few.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

6 responses to “www Wednesdays – July 13, 2011

  1. I’m reading short stories at the moment and really enjoying Fifteen Modern Tales of Attraction by Alison Macleod.
    I haven’t read The Talented Mr Ripley, but want to some time. I have however seen the film!

    • I heard the movie was OK but Matt Damon couldn’t match the Mr Ripley’s character well enough.

      • I thought the film was well made and tense.
        Yesterday I saw ‘The Children of Men’ based on a PD James book. Have you read / seen this?

      • I didn’t read the book but I did see the movie a couple of years ago. It was a very interesting story but I think like most “sci-fi” premises, you have to believe this could happen. I like the universal themes though, the resistance movement, the insurrection, the refugees, the messages of hope. I like the way it was filmed (it kept me on the edge of my seat) and Michael Caine was brilliant, as usual.

      • I largely agree. The dim lighting, winter months and long shots all helped the tension. But if I remember the book correctly the film was ‘loosely based on the book’

      • I should probably put the book on my to-read list, which is getting quite long…

Leave a Reply

