www Wednesdays – July 6, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

I thought my next post would be a monthly update to my “101 in 1001” challenges but I got so busy doing fun things this past three-day weekend, I simply ran out of time. Oh well, at least I know what I’ll be writing about before this week is over.

Lots of great reading this past week. I can’t wait to read your feedback if you’ve read some of the same books.

My bookshelf

The time traveler's wife– What I’m currently reading
The Time Traveler’s Wife
by Audrey Niffenegger. I’ve wanted to see the movie for a while but figured I should really read the book first, so I’m doing it now! I’ve only read the first few chapters and I’m having a hard time putting the book down. Such an interesting concept and way to tell a love story. I can’t wait to see where this goes.

– What I recently finished reading
The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. This was a challenging read for me because of the style but I got used to it about a third into the book and really enjoyed the story (and now I’m ready to see the movie too!). This is the story of Mr Stevens, a “perfect” English butler, oblivious to the life going on around him, uptight and emotionally withdrawn. Putting his career and loyalty towards his employer above everything else, Stevens goes through life without living it. Spanning from the early 1930s to the mid 1950s, it’s a great snapshot of England during these trying times. This book is a good reminder that no matter how much pride and focus you can have on your career, there’s so much more to life and we should make the best of it.

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life’s Greatest Lesson by Mitch Albom. Now, how ironic is this? I’ve managed to read two completely different books in a row about the same theme: what really matters in life. Just like Stevens, Mitch Albom went through the first 15 years of his career focusing on money and fame, unaware of the void within. That’s until he happens to meet Morrie Schwartz again, his old college professor. Morrie’s life lessons are simple and humble, yet they’ll ring a bell for most of us. Many people chase materialistic possessions to feel less unhappy and empty instead of addressing the real reason for their unfulfilled lives. A great, easy to read book to keep us grounded.

– What I think I’ll read next
At this point, I’m not sure. I have a library book already waiting for me on the bookshelf and I’m expecting a few more soon, but my best friend also gave me a mystery book for my birthday and it looks quite interesting.

My kids’ bookshelf

Hooray for Amanda and her alligator– What they’re currently reading
We’ve re-entered an Amelia Bedelia stage, alternating between Amelia Bedelia and the Cat, Come Back Amelia Bedelia, and Amelia Bedelia Bakes Off. I have a low tolerance level for the whole Amelia Bedelia concept but my kids love the books, especially my oldest, who’s just starting to understand play-on-words and number of American idioms. I personally would love to go back to the Mo Willems books simply because they’re a lot more entertaining!

– What they recently finished reading
Speaking of Mo Willems, we’ve read Hooray For Amanda & Her Alligator! a few times already. This is a compilation of 6 and 1/2 stories and is pure Willems’ fun. My kids’ favorite part? When the alligator tries to chomp on the top of Amanda’s head because he’s bored and she’s too busy reading library books to play with him…

– What I think they’ll read next
Surprise, surprise… Actually, I have no idea at this point but I’m hoping for more great books.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

10 responses to “www Wednesdays – July 6, 2011

  1. I’ve seen the movie, “The Time Traveler’s Wife” and liked it…but it was sad. :(

  2. I have read all three of your books and enjoyed them all.

    You should read ‘Ender’s Game’ by Orson Scott Card. Fabulous read. Ignore that it’s sci-fi (if you don’t like sci-fi) because it’s the themes that are gripping. There’s a poignancy to it that I’ve rarely come across in any book.

  3. I really enjoyed the Time Traveller’s Wife: very cleverly written. I saw the film and thought they had tried hard, but it wasn’t up to the book!
    I’m glad you carried on with the Remains of the Day. Such an excellent book about misjudged loyalties and lost love.

    My boys are 17 and nearly 15 and aren’t reading much at the moment. I hope our hold in August will rectify that, as we are having a computer free fortnight!

    • Oh your kids are going to love you! Kidding aside, it’s a great idea. I think the teenage years are crucial in helping a person become a lifelong reader, or making them lose their interest in reading. I’ve read somewhere not to focus on what kids are reading but just the fact they are reading something they enjoy. I’ve never understood why we read the classics in middle and high school when our minds are so not interested and matured enough. I think this is the type of literature that can turn young minds away from reading simply because they’re not ready. What a pity.

    • Very true about the forcing of adult literature on teenaged minds. Some are ready, but not all.

      (Your comments are ‘upside down’ – when I first looked I thought my had disappeared!)

      • When you say upside down, you mean from oldest at the top to newest at the bottom? Interesting you see it this way because that’s how I prefer reading the comments, going down the trail of thought. I see some blogs doing the opposite (most recent comment on top). Funny how people think differently!

      • How very strange. I’m certain when I read your blog before the newest were at the top of the page… and now it’s reading top to bottom which is great!

      • OK, we’re on the same page then!

Leave a Reply

