WWW Wednesdays – June 22, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

Welcome back to WWW Wednesdays! The kids have been doing a lot more reading than me this week and we’ve discovered a few great books to share.

My bookshelf

Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas by James Patterson– What I’m currently reading
I just started reading Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas by James Patterson last night. I was very tired and needed the sleep but it was hard to put it down. I can’t wait to find out how this story turns out.

– What I recently finished reading
Earlier this week I finished Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto. Although it was easy to read, entertaining and informative, it seems that Pollan spends more time telling us what not to eat, rather than what to eat. Probably because nobody really knows what the “perfect” diet really is, since food and its thousands of nutrients are so complicated to understand. What did I get out of it? Eat a reasonable amount of foods, go for variety and simple ingredients, and make sure to eat plenty of fruit and vegetables. Voila!

I also read Vol de Nuit (Night Flight) by Antoine de Saint Exupery in a couple of sittings. As a French native, the only other St Exupery book I’ve read so far is Le Petit Prince (The Little Prince), one of my very favorite books, so it was great to read more of this wonderful, poet-in-prose author. This book gives great insight on what it was like to work for the airline mail courier L’Aeropostale in the late 1920s, as St Exupery did himself, including flying at night to compete with mail services by ship and train. A very chilling story about bravery and humanity.

What I think I’ll read next
Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata. I grabbed this book off the youth literature shelf at the library simply because I liked the cover but I have no idea if it’s any good. It won the Newbery medal, so it can’t be too bad! The inside jacket describes it as the story of two Japanese sisters who move to the Deep South, in Georgia, with their parents, so the premise looks interesting.

Flotsam by David Wiesner

Flotsam by David Wiesner

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading
We’re been reading a lot of new books but they do have a few favorites, including Flotsam by David Wiesner. We’re big fans of Wiesner and this book doesn’t disappoint. This illustrator makes you understand why sometimes a picture really is worth a thousand words. By the way, if you haven’t read The Three Pigs with your kids, you’re missing out – it’s pure genius. Other new favorites include Chicken Butt and Chicken Butt’s Back by Erica S. Perl. What kid doesn’t like stories mentioning the word “butt” a dozen times? Very, very funny.

– What they recently finished reading
Skippyjon Jones and the Big Bones, and Skippyjon Jones in the Doghouse. We have the audiobook versions and it’s great to have Judy Schachner read her own stories to the kids. Especially because my tongue can never read a Skippyjon Jones book without messing up a few lines, and Schachner’s voice is so fun and entertaining. Holy frijoles!

What I think they’ll read next
Mr Putter & Tabby Spill the Beans, and Mr Putter & Tabby Spin the Yarn by Cynthia Rylant. We do have the books but the kids have been too busy with others to take serious interest in these two so far.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

6 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – June 22, 2011

  1. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the James Patterson book!

  2. I’m glad you liked it!
    It’s my honor to pass on to you 3 blog awards! The Irresistibly Sweet, Stylish AND Versatile Awards! :)
    http://therealsharon.wordpress.com/2011/06/25/lost-found-and-belated-awards/

  3. I always enjoy this feature of yours.

    I also read the Michael Pollan book and found it to be instructive. I’m reading another food related book right now – Why French Women Don’t Get Fat – and appreciate both that author’s and Pollan’s simple approach to talking about eating well. They both seem to focus on eating actual food with an emphasis on the things we already know are good for us. I get so confused by all the different health trends that it’s refreshing to be reminded to eat fruits and veggies, drink water, and exercise – sad that that essential information is so often drowned out!

    Thanks too for the kids’ books recommendations. I think I’ll pick up Flotsam on our next library outing.

    • I’m glad you like the WWW Wednesdays theme, I think it’s a great idea to give other people exposure to books they may not know about. If you’re getting Flotsam, which has beautiful illustrations that will tickle your kids’ imagination, make sure you also get The Three Pigs by Wiesner. Very different theme, but very funny (a twist on the common three little pigs story).

      I can’t wait to hear what you think of the Why French Women Don’t Get Fat book. When it came out, people constantly commented it must be true since I’m a normal weight French woman living among unhealthy American diets. I probably should read, for a cultural perspective, because throughout my childhood I’ve seen many, many French women (not so much men) on a diet. As a kid, I never worried how healthy or unhealthy the food on my plate was, even though it often included high-fat foods like delicious cheese. I think moderation and knowing when you’re full is the key. When I hear my kids say they’re full, I take their plates away.

Leave a Reply

