WWW Wednesdays – June 15, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

The whole family has done a lot of good reading this past week, with a few books I’d like to recommend.

My bookshelf

– What I’m currently reading
I just started Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto, when he starts by putting down the whole hype for low-fat diets. Besides trans fats, which are very bad for your health, some fat has never hurt anyone and could actually be good for you. Who doesn’t like to hear that?

How Reading Changed my Life by Anna Quindlen– What I recently finished reading
I highly recommend The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon. Narrated from the viewpoint of 15-year-old autistic character Christopher, it gives you great insight on how the autistic mind functions – and sometimes mis-functions. It doesn’t take long to realize Christopher is a very sharp young man but has a hard time processing some types of information, especially in stressful situations. Haddon does a great job at mixing mystery, humor and tragedy, and he clearly understands autism better than most of us.
I then read How Reading Changed by Life by Anna Quindlen, a talented writer who shares how she developed her lifelong love of reading, and the people and books that inspired her. If you’re a parent who thinks reading is important for your children, this will be a good read. She even contributes several reading lists, including “10 books that will help a teenager feel more human” and “the 10 books I would save in a fire”.

– What I think I’ll read next
Probably Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas by James Patterson, recommended to me by a fellow blogger. I’ve never read James Patterson so I hope this will be a good way to start.

My kids’ bookshelf

Little Critter: Going to the Seapark– What they’re currently reading
Mike Mercer has issued several Little Critter books in the past few years, so we’re reading them now, including:
Little Critter: Going to the Seapark (perfect for us, regular SeaWorld visitors)
Little Critter: A Green, Green Garden (also perfect for us since we’re growing things in the backyard)
Little Critter – Just Saving My Money (a good lesson on making and saving money to buy your own toys)
These books have fun illustrations and are great for early readers. My kids ask to read them again and again.

– What they recently finished reading
More Mercy Watson by Kate DiCamillo! They’ve enjoyed Mercy Watson Fights Crime and Mercy Watson: Something Wonky This Way Comes. Both books feature new character Leroy Winker, a little wannabe cowboy (yippie-i-oh!) with some not-too-honest intentions. Several characters from the previous Mercy Watson adventures get to revisit. Very fun to read. I also want to thank Kate DiCamillo for having me say 10 times in a row “Beatrice Leapaleoni”.

– What I think they’ll read next
More Little Critter, and more Mr Putter & Tabby books, since that’s what’s waiting for us at the library. We’re all looking forward to some great reading!

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

2 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – June 15, 2011

  1. I can’t wait to see what you think of “Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas”….Both the “Curious Incident” book and “Reading changed my life” look interesting to me! I want to add them to my to read list! :)

Leave a Reply

