My boy is graduating from preschool tonight

graduating from preschoolYes, you read this right. My oldest is graduating from preschool tonight during an official ceremony. The whole class will be giving a well-rehearsed performance, including songs, sight word recognition and some other secret activities my son won’t tell me about. The kids will be wearing cute graduation hats they get to keep, and they’ll receive a graduation certificate. Of course, no preschool graduation ceremony is complete without cake and apple juice. That’s all kids need to stock up on, tons of sugar an hour before bedtime…

Buzz Lightyear pyjamasWhen I first heard about this preschool graduation ceremony, I couldn’t help but chuckle. I honestly had never heard of such a thing. And the timing seems a little off since preschool will  still be in session for two months, until kindergarten starts. But then again, why not celebrate a milestone in our children’s lifelong learning voyage? For me, entering the public school system marks the end of a fun, grade-free, stress-free era. Pre-K kids need all the encouragement they can get, and I think parents do too.

Here’s a funny fact about this graduation ceremony. My son happened to mention he would wear his Buzz Lightyear pyjamas for the event. “Wait, at a graduation ceremony, are you sure???” “Yes, the teacher said we should dress up.” Ah, the English language can be so subtle… So I checked with his teacher to find the origin of the confusion. She did tell the kids to “dress up”, not realizing a boy may understand it as “wear a costume” rather than “dress nicely”. Since my son was expecting to attend a costume party, I suggested she clarify to the class what types of outfits were appropriate for the event.

Mo Willem's Gerald and Piggie book I'm invited to a partyThis reminds me of a very funny Mo Willem’s Gerald and Piggie book called “I Am Invited to a Party”. Piggie doesn’t know what to wear for her first party and Gerald helps her go through a series of possibilities. What if it’s a costume party? Wait. What if it’s a pool party? How will she know the proper attire to wear? If you have kids between 3 and 6, you should read this book to them, they’ll love it.

My husband happens to be on a business trip this week, so he’ll miss the ceremony. This means I’ll have to manage my squirmy three-year old to keep him sitted while I try to take photos and videos of the event. How many times do you think I’ll be saying “please sit down” tonight? I think I’m the one who’ll need the cake most when this is all over. Wish me luck.

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

8 responses to “My boy is graduating from preschool tonight

  1. Congratulations to your little graduate! How cute that he thought “dress up” meant wear a costume! :)
    Good luck and hope you have fun!

    • Yeah, sometimes with kids you really have to clarify what you mean, or you may be surprised… The ceremony was great but his little brother acted out a lot. We had to make a quick exit after he bonked his head on the concrete outside. Ah, kids…

  2. Congratulations :) that’s indeed a cute milestone :)
    Good luck and would love to hear how it went on..

    • It was exciting to attend such an event. There was a lot of singing, some sight word recognition, then the official handing of the certificates with photo opportunities and some more singing before we all headed outside for cake. My youngest one wasn’t too keen on attending and kept asking when we were going home. Fun.

  3. CONGRATULATIONS on your sons Graduation! Have a fun evening.

  4. It has taken me this long to actually realize that I wasn’t subscribed to this blog (only to your cow one).
    I wondered why I kept missing things…

    Congratulations to your son!!! (And to his mum). I think he wouldn’t have been the only one to misunderstand the term ‘dress up’ so I’m sure that you saved a few mums from sending their kids in the wrong attire!!

    I completely sympathize with you and your 3yo. I’m often driven mad by one (or more) child(ren) while trying to watch another!!

Leave a Reply

