WWW Wednesdays – June 8, 2011

WWW Wednesdays

Just a week ago I embraced the WWW Wednesdays weekly theme to give you an idea of what books my kids and I get to read. I’ve gone through quite a few since last week, so here’s an update.

My bookshelf

The curious incident of the dog in the night-time– What I’m currently reading
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon
I’ve been meaning to read this book for a while so I’m glad to finally get to it.

– What I recently finished reading
Babe the Gallant Pig by Dick King-Smith
A lovely, inspiring story for both children and grown-ups. No matter the prejudices we can  suffer from, hard work and persistence can help us become whoever we want to be, even a sheep-pig. As for politeness, it happens to be a very useful skill to gain cooperation from others. I can’t wait till my kids are old enough to read this book.

Encore by Marc Freedman
Although this book focuses on people in their 50s and 60s looking for a second or third career, this is a good read for anyone longing to find a more fulfilling, meaningful job.

The Alchemist by Pablo Coelho
Sorry if you’ve read this book and loved it but I couldn’t be more disappointed. This book has gotten so much hype and really doesn’t deliver. If you’re searching for your true passion and purpose in life, many other books will guide you through your search and inspire you. This one may just bore you to death. I can’t believe some people have compared it to Saint Exupery’s The Little Prince. Now, that’s a great story everyone should read!

There are cats in this book by Vivian Schwarz– What I think I’ll read next
Probably Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto, to follow up on The Omnivore’s Dilemma.

My kids’ bookshelf

– What they’re currently reading
Two hilarious books they can’t get enough of:
There are cats in this book by Vivian Schwarz, featuring Tiny, Moonpie and Andre, and There are no cats in this book (even funnier than the first one). I love the interactivity between the book characters and the reader. My kids flip through the pages on their own and can retell the dialogues in each word balloon.

I broke my trunk by Mo Willems– What they recently finished reading
I broke my trunk by Mo Willems
Some Mo Willems books are better than others and this is the most recent of the Gerald & Piggy series. Very, very funny. It’s a long, crazy story… you’ll have to find out why for yourself.

– What I think they’ll read next
I’m getting some new Mercy Watson and Mr Putter & Tabby books soon.

Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Leave a Reply

