My best Mother’s Day present ever

Happy Mother's DayThis year my kids have given me the best Mother’s Day present I could ever ask for. No, it wasn’t the very cute handmade card, although this was probably the best Mother’s Day card I’ve received so far. It wasn’t the little vase with tissue paper glued to it either (I’ll do my best not to break it!). Or the dozen times I heard “Happy Mother’s Day” today, delivered with plenty of hugs and kisses.

Today, on Mother’s Day 2011, and probably for the first time since I ever became a mom, my kids slept in, and therefore I slept in. I woke up at 6am, then 7am, then 7:30am, wondering when one of them would show up in our bed. Finally at 8 o’clock I opened my eyes, fully rested, and had to go in their bedroom to make sure they were doing OK.

I slept 8 hours straight last night. More than the 7 hours I wrote down as one of my 101 tasks in 1001 days. It’s actually the first time since I started this challenge a week ago that I managed to sleep at least 7 hours, and it happened to be on Mother’s Day! I can’t remember the last time I slept 8 hours in one night – it’s been that long.

For that I’ll be forever grateful. So I’d like to ask my kids to consider instituting a sleep-in mandate for all future Mother’s Days. Do you think I’m pushing my luck? Thank you, my boys!

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

10 responses to “My best Mother’s Day present ever

  1. Looks like you’re having a great Mother’s Day! Hope the rest of it is just as great! :)

  2. WOW! I must admit I’m jealous! Best Mothers Day gift ever. Sleep? 8 hours straight? What in the world is that!? Hahaha!

  3. Sleep, the most wonderful gift of all. :-)

  4. And it continues to be true, even for grandparents! As much as we loved having the grandkids stay with us even when they were infants, when they were here we slept with one eye open and one ear listening.

Leave a Reply

