Book review: Baby Penguins Everywhere and Baby Penguins Love Their Mama

A couple of months ago, I participated in the month-long PiBoIdMo challenge, where you had to come up with 30 picture book ideas in 30 days. If you read the daily posts and commented on them, you also had a chance to win some cool prizes. Well, I didn’t win anything but I still got lucky. One of the guest bloggers for the event was children’s book author and illustrator Melissa Guion, and she contacted me after I commented on her post, asking me if I would be interested in reviewing her two picture books, Baby Penguins Everywhere and Baby Penguins Love Their Mama. She thought it’d be a good idea of gather the perspective of a single mom (me), who also happens to be the main character in her book. Well, in the form of a penguin…

I want to apologize to Melissa Guion for taking so long to write and post my reviews of her books. I read them with my kids as soon as we received them. We really enjoyed them and read them a few times each. I just got wrapped up in the holiday frenzy and then my kids were off school for two and a half weeks, and then a new year started… You get the idea. So today I’m finally catching up and sharing these books with you.

First in the series, Baby Penguins Everywhere tells the story of a penguin all alone on the ice, feeling lonely. Until one day, when she sees a hat floating by in the water. Out of the hat popped a little penguin. And another. And another. And another. And many more! The hat looks like one of those magician’s hats where the guy can pull out 10 rabbits in a row.

Baby Penguins Everywhere by Melissa Guion

Baby Penguins Everywhere by Melissa Guion

So now, the penguin isn’t lonely anymore. In fact, she’s very, very busy. My kids had fun counting how many penguins she’s actually taking care of. I believe there are 29 little penguins in this book. Wow, I feel tired just looking at them waddling around. I just hope for Mama Penguin they’re not all boys…

Baby Penguins Everywhere by Melissa Guion

Baby Penguins Everywhere by Melissa Guion

You can imagine that after a while, Mama Penguin is a tiny bit tired, physically and mentally, so she needs to take a moment for herself before she goes back and enjoys her little penguins’ company. I love the message that moms need a break throughout the day when dealing with little ones. My kids did notice she was doing all of this alone and didn’t get any help. I personally feel for her. Obviously penguin moms have a lot more energy than human ones.

In Baby Penguins Love Their Mama, Mama Penguin has started educating her little penguins with different activities every day, which include swimming lessons, sliding lessons, and waddling lessons. Oh yeah, and let’s not forget the squawking lessons. Have mercy…

Baby Penguins Love Their Mama by Melissa Guion

Baby Penguins Love Their Mama by Melissa Guion

By the time Sunday arrives, Mama Penguin needs a nap. I wonder how long her little ones let her sleep but probably long enough because she looks refreshed after that. And then Mama Penguin asks her penguins what she’d become once they were all big penguins, a question most of us moms wonder. The answer? Their mama, of course!

Overall my boys and I found these two books very cute, and very funny. We enjoyed the soft watercolors and the simple way the penguins were drawn without getting in the way of the story. Next time my kids bug me when I’m trying to take a 5-minute break, I’ll tell them I’m Mama Penguin. And if that still doesn’t work, I’ll have to use the big guns and read Five Minutes’ Peace by Jill Murphy to them again.

A big thank you to Melissa Guion for sharing her books with me and my kids!

17 responses to “Book review: Baby Penguins Everywhere and Baby Penguins Love Their Mama

  1. They look like wonderful books. Great illustrations. Oh, I miss those days of cuddling on the couch with my boys and reading a stack of picture books!

    • Reading all together is one of our favorite time of the day. I hope we get to read picture books together for a bit longer. Even when my youngest goes to sleep, my oldest and I read our own books side by side, and this is very nice too.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about my penguins on your blog today. And don’t worry for even a minute about the time; believe me, I understand COMPLETELY. I’m just happy to hear you and your boys enjoyed reading the books.
    All the best, Melissa

  3. Cute pictures. I need grandkids so I have someone to read picture books to again. Enjoy this stage. It flies by, but seems like it lasts forever while your kids are young. But it doesn’t.

  4. I’ll have to look for that, C loves penguins!

    • It’s amazing how many children’s books there are about penguins out there. Also check out Oliver Jeffers’ Lost And Found. Great, great book about friendship (and a penguin). There’s a sequel to it but I forgot the name. If you love for his books, you’ll find it. It’s good too.

  5. How sweet! Penguins are such fun little things.

  6. Just want to thank you and all the mama penguins of the world for giving love, support and inspiration to all the little penguins out there. A wonderful fun book that shows the priceless gift of parenthood and family. My son will adore this book. Have a great week & best of blessings to your family.

  7. This might interest you:
    http://writingcareer.com/

    Among other things, Simon & Schuster is starting a Sci-Fi imprint and Penumbra Magazine wants Super Hero stories. And the Fog Horn is paying $1000 a story (for 1200-8500 words).

    There’s also a link for Kid Lit submissions.

    • Thank you! I’ll definitely check into it. My biggest problem is making time to work on my manuscripts every day. I’ll getting something started and then let it sit on my desk for weeks. Not the way to get something done, argh…

  8. That’s a great message for a children’s book to have! I’ve always loved penguins because of their waddling and sliding. I hope you’re able to work in some Mama Penguin downtime!

Leave a Reply

