WWW Wednesdays – April 18, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Switch: How to Change Things When Change Is Hard by Chip & Dan Heath- What I’m currently reading
Switch: How to Change Things When Change Is Hard by Chip & Dan Heath. I’m more than half way through it and I’ll share my opinion about this book in next week’s update.
 
- What I recently finished reading
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith. I found the beginning entertaining, as Lincoln goes through training to become a vampire slayer (Buffy still kicks more ass in my opinion). Things started to turn a little gross as Lincoln slayed more vampires, then even more gross. When Lincoln became president, he stopped slaying vampires and I got bored. And then there’s the whole idea of slavery and the civil war (and all other wars, apparently) that seem to be the result of the neverending appetite of vampires. I finally lost interest  and skimmed through the last quarter of the book. Unless you really like vampire stories, I’m not sure I can recommend you this book.
 
- What I think I’ll read next
I really need to get to Michael Scott’s The Warlock (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel) since it’s due in 10 days at the library and I doubt I’ll be able to renew it.
 
My kids’ bookshelf

National Geographic Kids Ultimate Dinopedia- What they’re currently reading
- National Geographic Kids Ultimate Dinopedia: The Most Complete Dinosaur Reference Ever. If you have a kid who loves dinosaurs, this is the book to get. It’s got large pictures and lots of data about each dinosaur. We have several dinosaur books but none of them is as complete as this one. A big hit with my four-year old!
- The Lemon Sisters by Andrea Chen. On her 80th birthday, a woman watches three young sisters play outside in the snow, remembers good times with her own sisters, and receives several birthday surprises. A WONDERFUL, lovely story about sisterhood and family. I loved it and my kids enjoyed it too.
- Gilbert Goldfish Wants a Pet by Kelly DiPucchio. Gilbert would love to have a pet of his own and he gets to evaluate a few possible choices. None of them seem right until Fluffy, with his long tail and whiskers, appears. The ending is not what you expect and my kids loved the effect of surprise!

- What they recently finished reading
- Tyrone and the Swamp Gang by Hans Wilhelm. Tyrone is a big dinosaur bully and almost everyone has joined his Swamp Gang. Boland and his friends try to resist Tyrone’s pressure by teaching him a good lesson. This is a great book on bullying showing how to “beat the bully” at his own game.
- No Place Like Home by Jonathan Emmett. Mole decides to look for a new home and gets a little help from his friends, but no place seems just right. A very sweet story about the true fact that “there’s no place like home”, with beautiful watercolor illustrations.
Diamond in the Snow by Jonathan Emmett. Mole experiences his first snow and even finds a sparkling “diamond”, otherwise known as an icicle, he runs to show his friends. The illustrations are even more beautiful in this book and my kids enjoyed this story a lot.

- What I think they’ll read next
I just got a whole bunch of books at the library and there are even more of them waiting for me. Yikes, so much reading ahead of us!

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

10 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – April 18, 2012

  1. My son’s friend down the street is crazy about non-fiction dinosaur books, he’d love that one.

    • I think so! It’s 250 pages of dinosaurs, usually one dinosaur on each page spread. There’s a shorter version of this book (about a third shorter) but it’s definitely not as good as this one. My little guy looks at every single page every day. I think I’m going to have to buy this one!

  2. I am still reading the same three books I was last Wednesday, so no changes for me. I should really try tackling one at a time…

    • Interesting comment about the multiple-book reading. I used to do that too. Notice how I said “used to”? I always wanted to read lots of books and I couldn’t decide which one to start with, so I’d start them all. One day I realized it actually took me longer to read two or three books at a time than reading them one by one. I think it has to do with your mind flipping from one story to the other, and constantly relearning to get used to the author’s style. Every book is written differently and it always takes me a few chapters to find my pace. When switching between books, I never find “the flow”. You should try reading them one by one and tell me how it’s working for you.

      • I only read one fiction book at a time. But while I’m reading that, I’ll often read a non-fiction one as well. For example, I’m currently reading a Nordic thriller but also “Quiet” by Susan Cain. It just so happens I’m finishing up Stephen King’s “On Writing” as well. Normally I don’t tackle three at once! But no, it would be weird for me to read two fiction novels at once.

      • Hopefully you can get one or two done soon. I really liked On Writing and learning about King’s journey as a writer. It was great to see his mom was pretty supportive and it’s good to see his early talent had a chance to develop. I think there’s no better gift as a parent than to let your kids shine.

  3. I love the books you are reading with the kids! The one about the sisters sounds like something I need to get to send to my own sister…I think she would love it. :) And I agree about reading more than one book at a time…I’ve tried it…and except for when I was in school and reading to write papers, it doesn’t work well for me…but my husband loves to. :)

    • I think you and your sister would LOVE The Lemon Sisters book. It really is a very touching story. My kids are brothers but they really got the meaning of the story and what it means to have a lifetime bond with your siblings.

  4. I’m reading medical articles on cats and people. Trade? :lol:

    • Haha, don’t take this badly, but no thank you! We’ve had our share of medical worries these past few years and I’ve learned more about some things I ever wanted to know… I’ll stick to fiction right now!

Leave a Reply

