WordPress weekly photo challenge: Two Subjects

I just spent the past two weeks enjoying Spring Break with my two boys full-time and… I survived! We had a long wish list of activities and managed to do all of them except two – not so bad. Of course I’ll be missing spending time with my kids but it will be nice to get some free time back to work on some work projects I set aside during our vacation time.

One of the activities on our list was to visit the Legoland Sealife aquarium in Carlsbad, CA, north of San Diego. Every time I’ve gone to an aquarium and tried to take pictures with my digital camera, I’ve always ended up with not a single photo good enough to keep. Too dark, too blurry, too pixely… I’ve never read my camera manual closely and couldn’t figure out how to take good pictures in such low light environment when it’s not the camera’s best working conditions.

So this time I decided to do some homework, especially after Nancy at Nrhatch encouraged me to take more photos of sea creatures in aquariums a couple of months ago. I guess my hard work paid off. Of course not every picture I took was good. In fact I had to delete many, but I still ended up with a few good ones. And several of them fit this week’s WordPress photo challenge about “two subjects.”

In this first picture, you can see two Japanese spider crabs crawling on opposite sides of the tank. These crabs can have a leg span of 16 feet, yikes! Or, yum, if you like eating crab like me.

Weekly wordpress photo challenge: two subjects - Japanese spider crabs

Weekly wordpress photo challenge: two subjects - Japanese spider crabs

I’m really proud of this second picture, my first success at photographing sea jellies. I wanted to take a photo of just one but I couldn’t get close enough (other people were standing in front of the tank) and they were twirling around too fast. But in this shot I managed to end up with two sea jellies.

Wordpress photo challenge: two subjects - sea jellies at Legoland Sealife aquarium

Wordpress photo challenge: two subjects - sea jellies at Legoland Sealife aquarium

My last picture is one of my boys “underwater”. My eldest stood there for me to photograph him when suddenly his brother head’s popped up right behind him. Two for one!

Wordpress photo challenge: two subjects - Legoland Sealife aquarium

Wordpress photo challenge: two subjects - Legoland Sealife aquarium

6 responses to “WordPress weekly photo challenge: Two Subjects

  1. Oh, that last one is great! What timing. We had a great sea jellies exhibit at one of the zoos near us last year. They’re really fascinating creatures. I normally don’t get too into “fish” but I found it hard to drag myself away from that tank.

    • There’s something mesmerizing about sea jellies and how they swim around. Most tanks have cool colors to display them so it does help. I wouldn’t put my hand in the tank though, most of those suckers are really poisonous!

  2. Fantastic pictures PP. The jellyfish look amazing!!

Leave a Reply

