WWW Wednesdays – February 29, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Seven years in Tibet by Heinrich Harrer- What I’m currently reading
Still Seven years in Tibet by Heinrich Harrer. I can’t believe I’ve read two-thirds of it and Harrer hasn’t had a single face-to-face conversation with the Dalai Lama yet. I don’t think it’s all been a waste of time still. I’ve actually learned how important it is to pick a hard-working yak if I ever need to climb the Himalayas.

- What I recently finished reading
Nothing new since I’m still reading the same book. At least I get comfort in knowing my next book will have a much faster pace.

- What I think I’ll read next
The Sorceress, the third in the series of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott. It’s still waiting for me at the library but I’m planning to pick it up today.

My kids’ bookshelf

If you give a dog a donut by Laura Numeroff- What they’re currently reading
If You Give a Dog a Donut by Laura Numeroff. Did you think Numeroff was done with her hilarious “If you give…” series? Well, she’s got a new one out and it’s as funny as the others. Hint: don’t give a dog a donut if you’re in need of resting time.
Wolves by Emily Gravett. Love it, love it, love it! A rabbit checks out a library book about wolves and happens to learn much more about their behavior than he wanted to know. Watch the wolves crawl out of the book and creep up behind the rabbit’s back. I love the ending alternative for sensitive little ones and vegetarians. It sure made my kids giggle a lot.
I Don’t Want to Be a Pea by Ann Bonwill. What a cute story! Hugo Hippo and Bella Bird are best friends but when Hugo wants to dress up at the Princess and asks Bella to dress as the Pea, their disagreement compromises their attendance at the annual “Fairytale Fancy Dress Party.”

- What they recently finished reading
Bedtime for Mommy by Amy Krouse Rosenthal. I loved this book and so did my kids! It reverses the mommy/child roles and makes the child in charge of getting mommy ready for bed, having to deal with pleas for one more book, more play time, a glass of water… If your little one gives you a hard time about the bedtime routine, I recommend this story, it’s hilarious to the very end and it helps kids understand how hard they can make it on their parents.
Tackylocks and the Three Bears by Helen Lester. Tacky the penguin and his friends decide to perform the play “Goldilocks and the three bears” for the little penguins in Mrs. Beakly’s class. Things don’t go exactly as planned, especially since Tacky didn’t put much effort into the rehearsals.
The Jolly Christmas Postman by Janet and Allan Ahlberg. A Jolly Postman delivers Christmas cards to several famous fairy-tale characters. Each card is stored in its envelope page throughout the story and kids can read it like a real Christmas card.

- What I think they’ll read next
We have a lot of books waiting for us at the library but I’m not sure what they all are. I think we have quite a few on monsters, so I’m expecting some more good reading.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

12 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – February 29, 2012

  1. Never know when the skills of picking the right yak could come in handy, LOL! My kids also like the If you give a . . . series. Hope your husband is recovering and your family is doing well.

    • I tell you, if you ever need a yak, read Seven Years in Tibet. You’ll learn a lot from it and avoid mistakes. I was wondering what happened to you since I didn’t see any blog updates for a while. But I just saw one so I’ll have to go over there and check it out.

  2. I read Unbroken by Hillenbrand recently. That was good. My kids are growing up, but my son is almost done with #11 in the Tennis Shoes series. He loves that. My favorite kid books are still Harry Potter series, the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe series, anything by Kate DiCamillo and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (that one always cracks me up)

    • We LOVED The True Story of the Three Little Pigs, way more fun than the original story! And Kate DiCamillo is a genius, no matter what she writes. I’ll have to check Hillenbrand. I keep seeing her books on display at the library so maybe it’s time to put a few on my to-read list. Thanks for sharing your reading journey!

  3. What an awesome list of books you have read with your kids! I will definitely check out the ones I hadn’t heard of, especially Bedtime for Mommy and Wolves.
    Milka, thank you for being such a wonderful role model to your children…they are loving books because you do!
    I have a feeling I will be sending you out another picture book soon. :)

    • I read way more books with the kids than I list on my weekly update so I try to select the ones we enjoyed the most for one reason or another. I keep meaning to update my Goodreads read list but I’m several months behind. Eventually… Feel free to check out the books we’ve liked. We’ve been pretty lucky recently.

      I loved reading as a kid and I have a need to read every day, even if I’m exhausted by the time I get in bed. My kids have gone to bed only a few times without reading in their entire life and they absolutely hated it. I’m glad they enjoy it and now that my five-year old can read too, it makes reading time even better.

      Gosh, I’d love to get another book from you! But I feel bad about the other contest participants. I hope someone else gets the chance to win this month…

  4. LOL about the yak! :lol:

    • The yak part is actually quite funny when you realize some yaks can be very uncooperative and won’t move. Not good when they happen to carry a seven-day food supply you have to rely on… I finished the book last night so I’ll share more about the end in next week’s update.

  5. I have been tagged twice and you can blame Sarsm and Sideview…
    and I’m inviting you to join in

    http://pseu1.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/tagged-twice/

Leave a Reply

